haphazard
Civilian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:05 pm

Foreign Intervention

Tue Jul 15, 2008 7:01 am

Is the FE value the same for both sides on a given turn?

haphazard

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13705
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Tue Jul 15, 2008 7:34 am

There is only one FE value...the same for both sides. Why ? :indien:
Image

Offworlder
General
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Tue Jul 15, 2008 7:44 am

But its not visible for the English side. Also in my last game the French intervened even when I only had 72 (or 62?) points. Also no declaration of war was issued by the French (in the after battle report). Strange...

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13705
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Tue Jul 15, 2008 7:48 am

We'll check those points. Normally both sides could see the FE level in the ledger...for the declaration of war, I guess there is something wrong in the order of the events following French entry :tournepas
Image

Offworlder
General
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:25 am

So we can see the FE level in the ledger? Sorry didn't know that though frankly I tried to look for it in the usual place for both sides (but not too hard I admit).

The first inkling I usually get of French intervention is when the French forces on the islands unlock. No declaration of war or anything :8o:

BTW could it be that the low entry level of FI is due to the fact that in the options I chose easy entry requirements.

User avatar
GlobalExplorer
AGEod Veteran
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact: Website

Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:55 am

I can confirm that it was stuck at 0 when I played the British (v1.00). It hought at the time that it was because I was winning so fast, and not a bug.

TheDeadeye
Colonel
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:50 pm

Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:44 am

I can confirm this as well. Playing the US side the FE value got stuck at 72 and the Spanish had entered the war and you could use their forces in New Orleans and their forces on Cuba became activated...however you could not move them....this happened without any notification of a formal French Alliance and you wouldn't receive any French Forces, execept the ones who were activated in the West Indies but you couldn't move them. The FE value got stuck at 72 and all diplomatic options vanished to raise the value shortly thereafter... :8o:

TheDeadeye
Colonel
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:50 pm

Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:47 am

There seems to be a problem with the AWI FE points as it gets stuck around 72 and the US player received Spanish forces but no French Forces and there is no mentioning in any newsflash that a French Alliance has been agreed upon......the value ought to be 100+ before that happens...but there was no way to increase the FE value shortly thereafter and all diplomatic options to raise it vanished and victories didnt count for it anymore either.

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7616
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:56 am

There is an event for the French West Indies that creates reinforcements there if the British go there.....

That should actually create the Declaration of War and start all French events....
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]
[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]
[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

TheDeadeye
Colonel
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:50 pm

Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:38 pm

lodilefty wrote:There is an event for the French West Indies that creates reinforcements there if the British go there.....

That should actually create the Declaration of War and start all French events....


Hmmm....well the British didn't go there in my game...the French forces in the West Indies just got unstuck as the level for FE hit 72 and you couldn't move them outside of the fortress at all...

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7616
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:52 pm

TheDeadeye wrote:Hmmm....well the British didn't go there in my game...the French forces in the West Indies just got unstuck as the level for FE hit 72 and you couldn't move them outside of the fortress at all...


Yes. Maybe coincidence. That group [there from the start] are set to unlock in 1779.
Since the French West Indies don't 'unblock' until French declare war, the troops can't go anywhere.

Similar occurance with Galvez and the other Spanish: they may 'unlock' but can't move until Spain declares War [12 months or so after the French]
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

TheDeadeye
Colonel
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:50 pm

Tue Jul 15, 2008 12:58 pm

lodilefty wrote:Yes. Maybe coincidence. That group [there from the start] are set to unlock in 1779.
Since the French West Indies don't 'unblock' until French declare war, the troops can't go anywhere.

Similar occurance with Galvez and the other Spanish: they may 'unlock' but can't move until Spain declares War [12 months or so after the French]


And there is another puzzling occurence lodi....the Spanish were perfectly movable (except the ones in Cuba) but the ones stationed at New Orleans are usable....and you get a message that the Spanish declared war on England after the French had....but that never happened in the first place :8o:

It probably is a trigger problem somewhere...

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13705
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Tue Jul 15, 2008 1:08 pm

We'll check the "chain" of events for a fix :indien:
Image

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7616
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Tue Jul 15, 2008 1:11 pm

TheDeadeye wrote:And there is another puzzling occurence lodi....the Spanish were perfectly movable (except the ones in Cuba) but the ones stationed at New Orleans are usable....and you get a message that the Spanish declared war on England after the French had....but that never happened in the first place :8o:

It probably is a trigger problem somewhere...


Yes, but I can't see it in the code :(

I'll need your save files, including past turns. I'll need to look at the turn where Spain declares War, and probably several turns before that...
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

TheDeadeye
Colonel
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:50 pm

Tue Jul 15, 2008 1:35 pm

Check your PM lodi..

User avatar
GlobalExplorer
AGEod Veteran
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact: Website

Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:00 pm

US again and I can confirm foreign intervention stayed at 72 for a while now (Feb 1779 ) though I have selected all political options in the book.

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7616
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:36 pm

TheDeadeye wrote:And there is another puzzling occurence lodi....the Spanish were perfectly movable (except the ones in Cuba) but the ones stationed at New Orleans are usable....and you get a message that the Spanish declared war on England after the French had....but that never happened in the first place :8o:

It probably is a trigger problem somewhere...


Thanks for the save files! Issue identified:

Spain did NOT declare war, so at least that event set is OK.

  1. Galvez arives in 1779 regardless of the French situattion.
  2. He arrives unlocked in New Orleans.
  3. New Orleans is blocked.
  4. However, Galvez can board a fleet and sail down the coast, wreaking havoc! :bonk:


These events were imported from the Galvez scenario, where France is already "in".

Proposed fix: Galvez and the gang will not arrive until the French declare war, and will be 'locked' until Spain declares war...

Fix will be in next patch [if I hurry] :)

Thank you for the reports and saves...
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

TheDeadeye
Colonel
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 11:50 pm

Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:16 pm

lodilefty wrote:Thanks for the save files! Issue identified:

Spain did NOT declare war, so at least that event set is OK.

  1. Galvez arives in 1779 regardless of the French situattion.
  2. He arrives unlocked in New Orleans.
  3. New Orleans is blocked.
  4. However, Galvez can board a fleet and sail down the coast, wreaking havoc! :bonk:

These events were imported from the Galvez scenario, where France is already "in".

Proposed fix: Galvez and the gang will not arrive until the French declare war, and will be 'locked' until Spain declares war...

Fix will be in next patch [if I hurry] :)

Thank you for the reports and saves...


Sweet.....glad you found it. So in the end France was never in the war. Also lets not forget the strange 72 FE lock and the vanishing of the diplomatic options for raising it..

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7616
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Tue Jul 15, 2008 4:25 pm

TheDeadeye wrote:Sweet.....glad you found it. So in the end France was never in the war. Also lets not forget the strange 72 FE lock and the vanishing of the diplomatic options for raising it..


I'm still learning how the options code works, but it looks like you only get to do the Ambassador and the Delegation twice. And the delgation is only valid once in 77 and once in 78...

GBR has 'mirror events' that look about the same...

Why it 'froze' at 72 may require the 'invoke Pocus' spell... 10 Mana, and a level 5 Wizard... :niark:
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

Offworlder
General
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:56 pm
Location: Malta

Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:04 pm

Just to add more to the pot... :innocent:

After the Spanish go to war without the French declaring war, a French squadron arrived in the Indies with some troops on board. The French marines etc were movable once they boarded the ships and got to the mainland.

All this without a French decleration of war. BTW is there a way we get Rochembau in game?

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7616
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Need Save game

Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:02 pm

Sorry to be so slow and quiet about these issues. :o

We have event modifications in place for the 'stray units' reported, but still lack data for the FE being "stuck".

Please, if anyone has a saved game showing this, please zip and upload it here.
The last 2-3 turns is enough, [to save size of the file].

FYI, the FE should increase every turn after Franklin arrives in France until intervention. ;) :siffle:
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

Return to “BoA2: Wars in America”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests