Altaris
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:15 am

I still don't understand what I'm supposed to do with the various files. What turn/phase am I loading, and when/how am I supposed to save and distribute files?

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:41 am

Altaris wrote:I still don't understand what I'm supposed to do with the various files. What turn/phase am I loading, and when/how am I supposed to save and distribute files?


I guess you are not the host, right?

The procedure works so:

1) Clients and Host load the game (latest shared save) and do the move, then save again thus each generating his own ORD file
2) Clients and Host then share the ORD file with everybody else
3) As soon all ORD files are shared, the Host executes the end-Turn procedure and then saves the game. Now the Host shares the so generated SAV & MAP files with all Clients.
4) Clients may only view the end-Turn procedure, provided they have all ORD files, just to see what's happened, but after the end-Turn procedure, they DO NOT save the game, because the SAV & MAP file has been shared by the Host. That SAV is the one used by ALL players, only that one!

Then loop back from step 1.
Visit my other games at : http://www.calvinusgames.com

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:04 pm

Altaris, if the last diplomacy ord file is arrived, leave them in the directory. I will do as host, so I'll procss them when back to home this evening. I will post a zip file with the new sav to load, and the old ord if you want have the replay.
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:34 pm

still missing one diplomacy ord file.

Calvinus stavo pensando che sarebbe utile far scaricare al programma un file con i logs delle battaglie sostenuto (quello che vediamo già internamente al gioco quando si clicca sul pulsante apposito). Non solo sarebbe un sostituto dettagliato del replay, ma confrontando quelli di vari giocatori si potrebbe capire quali fattori posso agire sul desync.
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

Altaris
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Tue Oct 16, 2012 8:46 pm

Okay, that makes sense, I'll make sure it's posted shortly.

Altaris
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:43 pm

My diplo orders are already up, looks like we're just waiting for Russia's.

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:10 am

Mitra wrote:Calvinus stavo pensando che sarebbe utile far scaricare al programma un file con i logs delle battaglie sostenuto (quello che vediamo già internamente al gioco quando si clicca sul pulsante apposito). Non solo sarebbe un sostituto dettagliato del replay, ma confrontando quelli di vari giocatori si potrebbe capire quali fattori posso agire sul desync.


Vuoi dire un file di testo, giusto?

Abbastanza facile da fare, potrei anche farlo in formato html così la consultazione sarebbe veloce, però alcuni antivirus intercettano la creazione di html come attività "sospetta" (l'IA può creare i suoi log in html, ma questa opzione si può disabilitare proprio per questo problema). In alternativa si potrebbe creare file txt...
Visit my other games at : http://www.calvinusgames.com

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Wed Oct 17, 2012 11:51 am

calvinus wrote:Vuoi dire un file di testo, giusto?

Abbastanza facile da fare, potrei anche farlo in formato html così la consultazione sarebbe veloce, però alcuni antivirus intercettano la creazione di html come attività "sospetta" (l'IA può creare i suoi log in html, ma questa opzione si può disabilitare proprio per questo problema). In alternativa si potrebbe creare file txt...


Se i dati sono formattati in colonne un CSV sarebbe ideale, è di testo ma excel lo apre e tabula in automatico. L'unica cosa è che dato che ogni paese usa segni di tabulazione diversi, bisogna leggere dalle impostazioni internazionali di Windows, qual'è il segno di separazione settato.
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Wed Oct 17, 2012 6:33 pm

Ok, i placed a zip file with my sav/map files and the bak file of previous turn if you want to replay before usign your original sav file. I didn't placed my military ord file, because making as host is not anymore necessary share them before i processed the turn. I tiwll create only confusion
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:11 pm

comunque, riguardo i rallentamenti sulla mappa di cui dicevi, settando il caricamento anticipato della stessa, sono molto più fluido.
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Sat Oct 20, 2012 1:33 pm

Guys do you tried to use the sav file? Did it work?
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

Altaris
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Sat Oct 20, 2012 4:14 pm

Sorry been super busy, but just loaded up and it looks like the SAV you provided is Germany's save. When I load it up it has Germany as the active side. So looks like it needs to be distributed out where each player gets a SAV that corresponds to their player side.

I have another suggestion too. When you distribute the turns, can you have two saves, one immediately prior to processing the turns (maybe call it REPLAY.SAV or something like that) and the other being immediately after processing the save. That way we all have consistent files of before and after orders take place, and can use the replay.sav to watch what happens (but players would need to remember after running the replay to Quit and load up the main save rather than continuing with the replay file).

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:09 pm

But do you renamed the .PBM you generated as host.PBM before load my sav?
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Sat Oct 20, 2012 5:22 pm

Probably I understood the reason... The PBM feature checks the matchId and refuses the PBM file if the id does not match. So I rebuilt 1.08q so that it now checks ONLY the filename matching. Please download again 1.08q (same link) and install it. It's compatible with your save. The filename must match, only this...
Visit my other games at : http://www.calvinusgames.com

Altaris
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:33 pm

Maybe I"m just missing something obvious, but can someone explain step-by-step what we're supposed to be doing? I'm very lost..

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:39 pm

1 - download and install again the beta path 1.08q, Calvinus did a new build of it
2 - if you still not have a PBM file in your save game directory, load the last the .sav file you had, save it again for generate the PBEM.
3 - rename the PBM as host.pbm
4 - load the file host.sav file I passed.
5 - make you moves, save (generating the ord file).
6 - insert the ord file in the shared directory of dropbox.
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

Altaris
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Sun Oct 21, 2012 1:56 am

Okay, think I got it now... military orders posted.

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:41 pm

still missing the others players
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

Altaris
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:38 pm

Did this game die an untimely death?

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Wed Oct 24, 2012 2:54 pm

I don't know, but I think they will have told something in this case
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

User avatar
poweraxe
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 1:38 am
Location: Netherlands

Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:52 pm

The game isnt dead for me, sorry i didnt post anything for a while, was very busy lately. Ill post something up soon

Altaris
Posts: 1543
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:47 pm

Haven't seen any postings at all from Carrot in a while though...

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:28 pm

He doesn't connect to forum since few days
Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

powcarrot27
Corporal
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 3:16 pm

Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:44 pm

i can send turn later today. I've just been pretty busy the past 2 weeks.

powcarrot27
Corporal
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 3:16 pm

Thu Nov 01, 2012 4:12 pm

I don't understand what I'm doing wrong. I followed all of the steps but still can't load the Russian turn.

Mitra
Captain
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:10 pm

Thu Nov 01, 2012 5:48 pm

Visit my wargame blog: http://warforgame.blogspot.it/

powcarrot27
Corporal
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 3:16 pm

Fri Nov 02, 2012 4:23 am

yes. When I change the name of the PBM file to host or when I add the host.sav files, should it overwrite anything?

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:08 am

powcarrot27 wrote:yes. When I change the name of the PBM file to host or when I add the host.sav files, should it overwrite anything?


The HOST.SAV is received by the Host PC and you overwrite the SAV of the previous turn. So it's normal you overwrite.
The PBM is to be renamed (into HOST.PBM) only once. You are not requested to change the file name during all future turns.
Visit my other games at : http://www.calvinusgames.com

powcarrot27
Corporal
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 3:16 pm

Fri Nov 02, 2012 1:57 pm

I guess that's the problem then. When I rename the previous turn and drop in new files, nothing is overwritten.
If I still can't get this to work, would everybody be willing to just start over?

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Fri Nov 02, 2012 2:52 pm

powcarrot27 wrote:I guess that's the problem then. When I rename the previous turn and drop in new files, nothing is overwritten.
If I still can't get this to work, would everybody be willing to just start over?


I don't understand, sorry. You copy the HOST.SAV and HOST.MAP files (in DropBox shared folder) and you paste them into the WW1 SaveGame folder. What's wrong? :wacko:
Visit my other games at : http://www.calvinusgames.com

Return to “PBEM and multiplayer matchups (all games)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest