Evren

AACW Advanced Mathematics 101

Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:07 pm

Hi Everyone,

I'm particularly new to this game, just got it this month, but loving it like i have it for years. I'm a no newbie to strategy games, been playing for years,
and despite the fact that i'm not so interested in American Civil War (or no other anglo-saxon civil wars :) , this is the best game i've ever played since now (but i'm sure it's gonna change so often from now on if the Ageod Team goes on like that). Congratulations, well done, all the respect etc..I could go on making compliments to the developers and the forum people, but this post would be so long then. Just know that you earned another respectful disciple.

I would like to write a post like "newbie questions, or how do you..?", but i see everything is already asked and answered, and i still want to say something in the forum, i decided to share my opinion on the game.

The problem is (if you can call it a problem), or the only thing that makes me think like "wouldn't it be better if..", is the unit and leader ratings. For instance, everyone at the beginning of the war, or throughout the war new that Lee was a great commander, but i'm sure no one (even himself!) knew that his ratings were 6-6-4, so as a corps commander, he would give his 11 offensive fire rating infantry a 30% bonus or stonewall jackson would move his army 15% faster.

I know these ratings are all necessary and used in the complex calculations during the game, i'm not sure any of the strategic planning were made or executed using numbers like that. The only numbers they could use were the number of men and horses and artillery etc.., even those were not that accurate.