Justus2
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 5:06 am

Questions on Brownwater Blockades

Fri Jul 26, 2013 1:10 am

I am just starting to play (I know, it's an older game, but saw some info about AACW2 and thought I would try this one out in the meantime). I am confused about 'brownwater' blockade regions. I understand how to check the port/harbor part of the town icon, and it tells me what 'sea zone' I need to put ships into to blockade that port (usually 4 ships, 8 if there is a fort there). But for many ports that are on rivers, the required sea zone is the river section. If I control the outer sea zone at the river's mouth (ie Hampton Roads for the James River), why do I need to have ships up river in James Estuary? How are their ships going to get out of the river?

User avatar
Captain_Orso
Posts: 5766
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:02 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Fri Jul 26, 2013 10:06 am

Yes, in AACW-I the game engine only takes the actual exit-point(s) of the harbor into account. Although in the real-world view if you control Hampton Roads or James Estuary you control traffic to and from all points upriver, the game still only looks at the exit-points. Maybe in AACW-II :siffle:

Justus2
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 5:06 am

Sat Jul 27, 2013 1:10 am

Thanks, that's what I was afraid of, but I will adapt. Appreciate the response!

Return to “AGEod's American Civil War”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests