Dragoon78
Conscript

So is there an easier way to learn this game?

Sun May 12, 2013 6:30 pm

I recently started playing because I have read alot of good reviews on this game. I have to say though it is a very steep learning curve and even after reading and rereading all the rules I still feel like I have no idea what I'm doing. The tutorial is really of no use except to show you where some of the buttons are. Does anyone have any tips for how to learn this game?

Also, what other pc civil war games are out there that you guys enjoy playing?

Ace

Sun May 12, 2013 7:28 pm

Try reding threads at the top of this forum, they are a great help. Also, try reading soundoff vs banks AAR on this forum. It is a great way to introduce yourself to this brilliant game

Floyd
Conscript

Sun May 12, 2013 7:34 pm

There is a "Let's play" on YouTube - very well made and informative!
I think there's a link in the AAR subforum ...

Dragoon78
Conscript

Sun May 12, 2013 11:34 pm

yeah i just found the youtube vids. Maybe it will be a little easier to understand if I see someone doing it. Thanks fellas!

Boomer
Lieutenant Colonel

Sun May 12, 2013 11:40 pm

Dragoon78 wrote:Also, what other pc civil war games are out there that you guys enjoy playing?

Along with AACW, there's also Gary Grigsby's 'War between the states' and 'Forge of Freedom'. Both are also games at the strategic level. For tactical, the Norbsoft 'Scourge of War' series is really good. I'm sure everyone here has probably played them all. ;)

Overparduffer
Conscript

Mon May 13, 2013 1:13 am

Also a new player... The Youtube videos from zerotasker were a huge help for me. Gives a great overview of all the logistics and everything that has to be done each turn. Useful threads for beginners in the forum also a big help when finding specific answers. Definitely start with the small battle scenarios.

charlesonmission

Mon May 13, 2013 1:45 pm