User avatar
Goeland
Major
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:54 pm
Location: Poitiers (France).

Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:03 pm

Thank you, but I haven't Vista, but W7. Operations listed at this link (especially for UAC) is not the same... and is not in english !

So, if I drop AACW from my PC and reinstall my original game, which is a v1.03, must I patch all the steps I did in the past (1.04 1.05 1.06 etc.) or just the v1.17a and it will be okay ?

Franck
L'Intelligence Artificielle n'est rien à côté de la Connerie Naturelle...

User avatar
Carnium
Posts: 2114
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:08 pm
Location: Slovenia

Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:29 pm

You only need the latest patch as it is all inclusive.

The patch is a comprehensive patch, meaning it can be applied directly over your initial game installation setup version.
This Patch also includes all content from all 1.17 QwikFixes


Have fun and my thanks to lodilefty for keeping it updated.

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7361
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:20 pm

Goeland wrote:Thank you, but I haven't Vista, but W7. Operations listed at this link (especially for UAC) is not the same... and is not in english !

So, if I drop AACW from my PC and reinstall my original game, which is a v1.03, must I patch all the steps I did in the past (1.04 1.05 1.06 etc.) or just the v1.17a and it will be okay ?

Franck


I have Win7, installed as described except for the UAC instruction: runs great!

The Wiki is now updated for Win7 UAC instructions!
\
yes: install your 1.03, then only need 1.17a patch.
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]
[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]
[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
Goeland
Major
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:54 pm
Location: Poitiers (France).

Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:41 pm

Okay, I've done it. I've reinstall my game from v1.03 and patched it to v1.17a directly : perhaps it can be good after so many years to have a "new" game !
Now it seems to work normaly. So thousand of thank you to you all ! :)

But I've understood where the error message came from : I'd changed the musics of the game (cf. here : http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?5163-Custom-Music-in-AACW-A-How-to-Guide ) with personnal musics (some from Ken Burns "Civil war" as Ashokan Farewell !). And when I exchange the "sounds" file of the game with my personnal one, the error message come !... Perhaps some other players will suffer this in the future ?...
So for instance I'll play with the "normal" "sounds" file, but is anyone able to tell me what I must change to make it accept my personnal "sounds" file ? (If I remember well it allready happened when I patched to v1.16 but I don't remember...)

Franck
L'Intelligence Artificielle n'est rien à côté de la Connerie Naturelle...

User avatar
Captain_Orso
Posts: 5365
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:02 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:42 am

If you replace any files with non-standard content there are two things to which you must pay attention, 1) the file names must be identical, 2) the file formats must be identical.

The sound and music files are mp3 format, stereo (discrete- or non-joint stereo format), 128 kb/s non-variable bit rate, 44,100 Hz sample rate. If the file(s) you implement do not maintain this format they may not be playable by the games codec.

You can add songs to the list in the music.ini file per the Pdubya's guide, but adding sound file will do nothing for you as they are not referenced in the game.

Edit: Check the second post following this one.

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7361
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:21 pm

Also please note that somewhere around patch 1.17, the Alias system for sounds changed, so what works in 1.16 might not in 1.17.....
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
Captain_Orso
Posts: 5365
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:02 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Thu Jan 31, 2013 5:54 pm

Update to sounds and music:

I have to revise what I said about the format. Some of the original files are Joint Stereo and some are not, so either is okay. Also some of the sound files are Joint Stereo and some are mono. So I think as long as they are 44100 Hz mp3 (Mpeg-1 layer 3) coded and either mono or joint stereo it should in general be okay.

IIRC the major change to the ini files is that they don't have a line at the end denoting how many files are being indexed. I haven't added music files to the game in years, but I did add a sound file to use in an event that I wrote and it worked. You just have to continue the numbering and insert the correct file name.

ValdarTWOW
Civilian
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:43 am

Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:54 am

Army ceased to retreat after a failed attack. If an enemy army attacks in neighboring provinces and is losing the battle, but now it does not retreat back. She stands in a defensive position, rather than retreat to his province, where they come from. Although the time to retreat enough. This is the result of a patch?

User avatar
Captain_Orso
Posts: 5365
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:02 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Tue Mar 19, 2013 12:55 pm

No, it's always been like that. If the battle loss was not too extreme, the losing force will often not retreate, especially if it is a large force. It seems that the larger the force, the more likely for it to stay.

User avatar
jeff b
Corporal
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 1:54 am
Location: Cherry Hill NJ
Contact: Yahoo Messenger

Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:58 pm

Anybody know where the last patch went? When I click on the link I get file not found.
Currently playing American Civil War.

User avatar
BigDuke66
Brigadier General
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:06 pm

Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:11 am

Check the first post and there the signature, that should be the latest patch at least I hope so.
"Spread word to every slave, that even the mighty republic bleeds when struck!"
Join the Napoleonic Wargame Club
Join the American Civil War Game Club
Join the The Blitz Wargaming Club

khbynum
Major
Posts: 220
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 8:00 pm

Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:56 am

Clicking on the link gives a "File not found" message, but clicking on AACW under lodilefty's signature turns up the file. I've struggled to appreciate CW2 for a couple of months now and have decided to go back to AACW. Unfortunately, I gave away my disc. Fortunately, I can download it from Matrix for $20.

Thank you, 'lefty, wherever you are.

pirana
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 8:17 pm

Tue May 06, 2014 11:49 am

bonjour, je n arrive pas a télécharger le patch , page not found
merci pour votre aide

User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 4562
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:31 pm
Location: Portugal

Wed May 07, 2014 12:12 am

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

User avatar
GlobalExplorer
AGEod Veteran
Posts: 777
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact: Website

Wed May 28, 2014 11:13 am

Merci

Grant
Civilian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:32 pm

Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:41 pm

Hi, I'm new to this forum and I was trying to download the latest patch for AACW but I'm getting a "Not Found" message when I click on the link....Right now my game is running on 1.15 I think.....Can you help me out? Thanks....

User avatar
BigDuke66
Brigadier General
Posts: 415
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:06 pm

Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:42 pm

Check the first post and there the signature, that should be the latest patch at least I hope so.
"Spread word to every slave, that even the mighty republic bleeds when struck!"
Join the Napoleonic Wargame Club
Join the American Civil War Game Club
Join the The Blitz Wargaming Club

User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 4562
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:31 pm
Location: Portugal

Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:18 pm

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Grant
Civilian
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 6:32 pm

Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:45 pm

Thank you !

jscott991
Lieutenant
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 9:51 pm

Wed Sep 03, 2014 11:23 pm

Edit: Should have looked at the end of the thread. Thanks.

Return to “AGEod's American Civil War”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest