csiemers
Sergeant
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:19 pm
Location: Pacific Northwest

CPU cores used?

Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:06 pm

I was noticing last night when I was playing Wars of Napoleon that it was using only 1 of the 8 cores on my computer.
Aren't Ageod games multi-threaded applications? Seems that if Ageod was to use all the cores on a computer it might perform faster.

User avatar
ERISS
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1937
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:25 am
Location: France

Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:55 pm

csiemers wrote:was using only 1 of the 8 cores on my computer. Aren't Ageod games multi-threaded applications?

No, let's hope next engine will be.
Seems that if Ageod was to use all the cores on a computer it might perform faster.

Sure, at least half of them, all is too much.

User avatar
Nikel
Posts: 2077
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Expaña

Sat Oct 01, 2016 5:10 pm

I asked for it 8 years ago, my first post here ;) Unfortunately it did not happen.


http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?8687-Multi-core-support-and-other-things&highlight=

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 24716
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Mon Oct 03, 2016 1:18 pm

It is super hard to change an engine from mono to multi threading. AGE was started mono in 2004 and it never switched to multi-threading. Except for PON where we are using a special directX library that is using its own thread for map display and scrolling.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Nikel
Posts: 2077
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Expaña

Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:19 pm

And the new engine?

Return to “General discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest