Strax
Conscript

Newbie here

Fri Sep 26, 2014 10:02 am

Hello All,

I've talked a friend into buying CWII so that I can play PBEM against him but I can't work out how to set up a PBEM game.
Can Anyone help?

Jim-NC

Sun Sep 28, 2014 3:47 am

What seems to be the problem?
Remember - The beatings will continue until morale improves.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Strax
Conscript

Wed Oct 01, 2014 1:42 pm

I load the game up, click play game and then new game but there doesn't appear to be any options for PBEM.
I'm sure I'm being stupid.

Pocus

Wed Oct 01, 2014 1:58 pm

Page 11 of the manual explains it:

[h=3]Play by Email (PBEM)[/h]EAW can be played against one or two humans opponents using PBEM or any other valid file transfer protocol, such as Instant Messaging or Dropbox™ . One of the players (the “Host” ;) will have to initiate the game. The procedure is detailed below:

1. Create a game:

The Hosting player chooses a Campaign/Scenario and a side and starts the game as usual. This automatically generates a sub-folder in the <User Directory>\EAW\Saves\ directory, named after the Campaign or Scenario selected (1914 Campaign if you play the “1914 Campaign” scenario, for example). Please note that a number helps differentiate between multiple instances of the same Campaign/Scenario. However, the best way to avoid confusion is to rename the in-game files with the appropriate button in the Load Game Window (e.g. 1914 Campaign John vs. Joe). Do NOT rename any EAW files externally to the game.
If you have trouble finding your User Directory, you can look at the Options window, in the main menu, it will be indicated there.

In this newly created folder you will a single HST file, containing all game data.

1. Host sends the HST file to opponent: