steelwarrior77
Colonel
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:44 am

Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:15 pm

Altaris wrote:I'm working with AGEOD on Wars of Napoleon testing right now, so I probably won't work on this any until after WON is released. WON has some nice new features I look forward to incorporating into this mod as well, a big one is it fixes not being able to draw replacements at ally's depots.

I plan to have a new version of this mod available at some point early 2016. Your list of items are good recommendations and I will look at incorporating them as much as possible.


Awesome - they should really pay you and make a DLC for money with all your work for TEAW - I would pay for it especially if it would work for Single Player AI also ;-D
About heavy bombardment using ammunition - why not substract it from the global ammunition amount. Then I would have a reason to build some ammunition factories ;-D
Is infantry research done, by building officer "factories"?

User avatar
ERISS
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1955
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:25 am
Location: France

Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:09 am

steelwarrior77 wrote:they should really make a DLC with all your work for TEAW

Yeay, reworked and adapted officialised version.

Altaris
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:37 am

steelwarrior77 wrote:Awesome - they should really pay you and make a DLC for money with all your work for TEAW - I would pay for it especially if it would work for Single Player AI also ;-D
About heavy bombardment using ammunition - why not substract it from the global ammunition amount. Then I would have a reason to build some ammunition factories ;-D
Is infantry research done, by building officer "factories"?


I was one of the lead designers for EAW, so it's all good :)

Matrix, AGEOD, and I did have a discussion around this being potential DLC, but it was decided against since it's not overly AI friendly and better suited to multiplayer (and the slow turn processing times alone are probably a turn-off to the more casual gamer), but they were very supportive of me releasing as a fan mod. I really wanted a mod incorporating some more "hardcore" elements to the game not capable through standard AGE engine features, this mod allowed me to do so. I've got a new version with some nice ideas underway, but it'll be a few months down the road.

Good idea on the heavy bombardment. This is a feature I've tinkered with a bit in the past. It will likely also be limited to the "Grand Offensives" feature.

Officer "factories" do indeed contribute to infantry research. At some point I'll also rename these to officer training schools or something more appropriate than factory :)

User avatar
BigDuke66
Brigadier General
Posts: 419
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 2:06 pm

Sat Oct 17, 2015 1:52 am

To be honest I would buy mods like these for ALL AGEOD games, sooner or later you get tired of the AI and want to do the real McCoy and that is only possible in an PBEM scenario that utilizes what the engine can provide, of course this is more demanding to the players but believe me it's also much more rewarding.

It's a pity that companies more and more try to be "convenient", and if one thinks about it one will realize that this is like convenient food, it's not really not what you want to chew & swallow.

PS I hope this opinion doesn't lower my chances to join the current WoN beta. :innocent:
"Spread word to every slave, that even the mighty republic bleeds when struck!"
Join the Napoleonic Wargame Club
Join the American Civil War Game Club
Join the The Blitz Wargaming Club

steelwarrior77
Colonel
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:44 am

Wed Oct 21, 2015 7:56 pm

Agreed in DLCs for all AGEOD games like this - would be extremly sad, if we could not get these things as SP versions - cause it is hard to always find realiable MP players and maybe we can collect people who are interested in such a DLC? Should be always good to get payed for a DLC - also for AGEOD ;-D
We could make a thread in TEAW and ask who would pay for such an improvement ;-D

geoffreyg
Corporal
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:55 am
Location: London

Sun Oct 25, 2015 7:22 am

Sorry I get error message: The download isn't available anymore.
Is it possible to reset it again.
Looks like a great mod.

Altaris
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Sun Oct 25, 2015 6:38 pm

Link should be live again.

geoffreyg
Corporal
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:55 am
Location: London

Mon Oct 26, 2015 8:57 am

Many thanks - we are just about to start a 8 player game. We will report back!

User avatar
Uawcat
Corporal
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:55 pm
Location: Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

Wed Nov 04, 2015 3:57 pm

I tried to download it today and got the same error message. Four other players and I intend to start a mp game as well.

Altaris
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Thu Nov 05, 2015 12:52 pm

I'll reupload tonight. WeTransfer links only stay live for about 10 days. I need to find a more permanent hosting solution.

steelwarrior77
Colonel
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:44 am

Sun Nov 08, 2015 8:21 am

Rape of Belgium does not seem to work - I did not get the amount of military controle as I should...actually gained nothing in all mentioned provinces...

User avatar
FlumenSV
Private
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:12 pm
Location: Fiume

Sun Nov 08, 2015 3:14 pm

Altaris wrote:I'll reupload tonight. WeTransfer links only stay live for about 10 days. I need to find a more permanent hosting solution.


Can You please reupload it again, I tryed today but is unavailable...
Indeficienter

Altaris
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Sun Nov 08, 2015 3:29 pm

Link live again on first post.

steelwarrior77 wrote:Rape of Belgium does not seem to work - I did not get the amount of military controle as I should...actually gained nothing in all mentioned provinces...


Good catch, I'll do some research. Probably an issue with the Military Control around the old ENT faction.

steelwarrior77
Colonel
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:44 am

Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:26 pm

You are welcome - just playing a 8 player PBEM - do the German and Austrian militia units spawn? Because if not that will change a lot...in my SP test game they did not spawn until mid 1915

Altaris
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Fri Nov 13, 2015 1:45 am

I'm really swamped through November with work and recovering from my hand injury, but I'm tentatively looking at a late December/early January update to this mod. If you guys come across any additional issues needing addressing, please keep me posted here.

User avatar
Stauffenberg
Brigadier General
Posts: 475
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 6:12 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact: Website

Fri Nov 13, 2015 6:02 pm

As a recent arrival to this, my thanks for all the hard work weaving a very rich tapestry indeed. I look forward to some stellar AARs to come from this. My only comment is that it would be good to have at least a reasonable AI up and running with this so that all the new features can be explored wihout setting up large pbems, but you have your hands full (or rather one hand at this point--hope the other gets better soon) with pbem and that's understood.
Thanks again for the excellent work. :winner:
Image

"General, have you ever head of Mosby?"
"Yes have you caught him?"
"He has caught you."

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Sat Nov 14, 2015 3:26 pm

I posted in our AAR, but wanting to repost here. According to what you posted at beginning of this thread, MTSG is 20% + (20%xstrat rating). Is this correct? It means a base 80% chance for most Germans and 100% for a lot of them. Yet, we are seeing little MTSG.

You mentioned you wanted MTSG to be very unreliable. 80-100% is quite reliable, so are the numbers much lower?

Altaris
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Sat Nov 14, 2015 3:28 pm

That should be the correct MTSG. I'll need some saves to investigate why it's not occurring if you're having issues.

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Sat Nov 14, 2015 3:39 pm

Here's the last save file. John will have get you prior save files, if he has them.

Numerous combats involving numerous corp either inside the battle region or next to it and look at the combat results. Very few corp actually involved in each combat, often with additional corp within the same region.
Attachments
GoldUltimate.zip
(367.77 KiB) Downloaded 34 times

Altaris
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Sun Nov 15, 2015 5:50 pm

Got the files, I'll review them when I can been stuck at work pretty much the entire weekend.

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Wed Nov 18, 2015 3:53 pm

When you look through the game files, there's a few more things to look for.

1) The Ambassador Card is failing against Italy 5 turns in a row. I don't think that should be happening even once. The ambassador may fail to increase support, but the card itself shouldn't fail. I've had the same issue against the AI, so I'm wondering if it's a bug in the base game.

2) Promotions aren't happening. 3 turns for GE and the promotion isn't firing.

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Wed Nov 18, 2015 4:28 pm

And one more thing to look at

The russian player can't see any icons when looks at all non-russian units. Meaning he can see the name, nationality and strength but no icon. That's strange also.

We are thinking that someone may have been running a prior version of the game (1.02 or earlier) and the game's become corrupted or there's a bug in the base game that's causing corruption. I've had a game versus the AI where all Ambassadors failed, bombard forts failed (said regional decision card failed, though I could play it on a green region and had the munitions...I could understand if the bombard itself didn't do anything, but the card itself should have been played since I met the criteria of 2 super heavies, etc...) and it happened multiple turns like a switch got turned on in the game and everything started failing.

smiljkovic73
Conscript
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:21 pm

Wed Nov 18, 2015 9:36 pm

[ATTACH]35393[/ATTACH]

This is how it looks like


vicberg wrote:And one more thing to look at

The russian player can't see any icons when looks at all non-russian units. Meaning he can see the name, nationality and strength but no icon. That's strange also.

We are thinking that someone may have been running a prior version of the game (1.02 or earlier) and the game's become corrupted or there's a bug in the base game that's causing corruption. I've had a game versus the AI where all Ambassadors failed, bombard forts failed (said regional decision card failed, though I could play it on a green region and had the munitions...I could understand if the bombard itself didn't do anything, but the card itself should have been played since I met the criteria of 2 super heavies, etc...) and it happened multiple turns like a switch got turned on in the game and everything started failing.
Attachments
russia_prntscr.jpg

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Thu Nov 19, 2015 6:06 am

I brought up Russians in a new game the icons were fine. So we are thinking something got corrupted in our current game.

Also, a couple things to look at with the Kronprinz plan.

1) The 4th Army starts in Luxemburg, which is showing neutral in terrain color. On the second turn, the 4th Army is unlocked, but can't move out of the region, any direction, probably because the terrain is locked.
2) The 2nd Army starts in Posen and 3rd Army starts in Breslau. On the second turn, both armies automatically are moved to Erfurt. This isn't by choice. I had them ordered to move towards Lodz, but they both transported to Erfurt.

That war plan isn't usable atm

User avatar
XTRG
Sergeant
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 8:49 pm

Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:22 pm

Is the download still working? ( when it take's me to file transfer it say's the download is no longer available :C

Altaris
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Sat Nov 21, 2015 6:43 pm

Download link on first post active again.

User avatar
XTRG
Sergeant
Posts: 85
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 8:49 pm

Sat Nov 21, 2015 8:11 pm

Altaris wrote:Download link on first post active again.


Thank you Altaris!.

Looking forward to learning the mod and starting a new series with it :) .

Would you like me to give you a mention or link to any of your work etc?

Altaris
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Sun Nov 22, 2015 4:21 pm

Sure that's fine.

Altaris
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 8:20 pm

Mon Nov 23, 2015 3:03 am

I've begun looking into the reported items, need a few more days. I'm utterly worn out from some seriously long hours the last two weeks but got caught up on rest this weekend and have a short week ahead. Can you guys compile a list of the current, confirmed issues you've run into?

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:27 pm

1) Regional decision cards can fail for turn after turn. No idea if there's a roll involved, but 5 turns in a row is suspect. When the print funds card shows invalid option, the ambassador card fails as does a bombard forts (though meeting criteria). Next turn, after Print State Funds is removed, the ambassador card works. I know you and a dev have looked at this, but I do believe it is an issue, unless it's a 50% chance of failure each turn, then 5 turns could be just very bad rolling.
2) Kronprinz war plan is a pretty serious issue in it. According to war plan, Luxemburg should start aligned to Germany. I believe there's a roll for neutrality that shouldn't be there. Th 4th Army starts on Luxemburg and if Luxemburg starts neutral, the 4th Army is locked and can't move out of it when it becomes active
3) One of our two Russian players tried the Polska War plan, but got the Grand Duke objectives. So the armies started out of position for Tannenburg, etc...
4) I believe MTSG is fine and well and there's confusion about MTSG not working at all. From what I've seen in my tests, MTSG will NOT work along Rails and between regions not connected by roads. Plus, there's "element inclusion" rolls for each stack in a region or adjacent and if that roll isn't high enough, that stack won't be included in combat, which is why some corps weren't involved in some of the combats though they were all int the same region. This is a reason to keep as much as possible in Armies rather than multiple Corps.
5) The 25th RU INF Corp has no icon associated with it. There's no other RU Corp that I've seen that has this issue.

Please correct if I have anything wrong about mechanics, etc..

Return to “EAW Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest