User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7578
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Mon Feb 01, 2016 11:46 pm

vicberg wrote:MinControl=75 is preventing RGD from being used in allied territories. You can't change MC as France when going to Spain unless you are at war. You can't build depots in minors either because you don't and will not have 75 MC.

EDIT: This needs a bit of clarification.

1) You have foreign access through a minor
2) You will have little to no military control and sitting the region will not build up military control because you are not at war.
3) You will be totally reliant upon the depots in the minors because you can't build any because you don't have mincontrol = 75 and you have no ability to get MC up to 75
4) Mincontrol = 75 needs to be removed. Specialinputcost_OwnKind, I *believe* will limit the available regions you can build in to home and friends.


Ah. good points. Agree with your #4
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]
[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]
[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25432
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:13 am

for RGD, controls factor your and the one of your allies.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

tony luke
Corporal
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:53 am

Tue Feb 09, 2016 2:09 am

Hi Vicberg, how long to your Mods release; looks very good and am keen to try it.

Regards,

AKL

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Wed Feb 10, 2016 6:37 pm

It will still be a bit

Last round of changes reduced Movement Cohesion/Attrition losses because they are both set to 100 and in most other games they are around 20-30. I asked for feedback and people are taking enormous attrition losses for movement in clear weather. I'm going to play with these numbers until we all feel that they are correct

I've also changed ship replacements. Costs for ships vary greatly, so I've reduced the cost for a a replacement to match the cost of a galley, used RplUsage so that SOL and Flagships use a LOT of replacements and made minor modifications to ship purchase costs so that they all match. I haven't done anything with INF/ARTY/Horses yet since the costs for these are very similar. I may have to do the same.

Adjusting the economy so that expansion of forces may occur, as currently all production for all powers is going to replacements using historical attrition and the 100 value Cohesion/Attrition loss from movement. This will be a work in progress to achieve the right levels of maintenance versus expansion.

MOD has been incorporated into latest patch release.

If you are interested in play testing, please PM me with your email and I'll send you a link to the MOD.

MarshalJean
Lieutenant
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:49 pm

Wed Feb 10, 2016 6:47 pm

vicberg wrote:It will still be a bit

Last round of changes reduced Movement Cohesion/Attrition losses because they are both set to 100 and in most other games they are around 20-30. I asked for feedback and people are taking enormous attrition losses for movement in clear weather. I'm going to play with these numbers until we all feel that they are correct

I've also changed ship replacements. Costs for ships vary greatly, so I've reduced the cost for a a replacement to match the cost of a galley, used RplUsage so that SOL and Flagships use a LOT of replacements and made minor modifications to ship purchase costs so that they all match. I haven't done anything with INF/ARTY/Horses yet since the costs for these are very similar. I may have to do the same.

Adjusting the economy so that expansion of forces may occur, as currently all production for all powers is going to replacements using historical attrition and the 100 value Cohesion/Attrition loss from movement. This will be a work in progress to achieve the right levels of maintenance versus expansion.

MOD has been incorporated into latest patch release.

If you are interested in play testing, please PM me with your email and I'll send you a link to the MOD.


Wow! This is a tremendous amount of work, vicberg! Do you mean that all of these changes you speak of here, and more, have been incorporated into the Feb 4 patch release???
Also, if this is true, do you or anyone else know if any of the Schronbrunn Peace treaty events have been tested or fixed if they are broken? I'm just anticipating problems there, since Pressburg and Tilsit have needed so much work...

Thanks!

MJ

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Wed Feb 10, 2016 7:06 pm

Yup. Feb 4th.

I've got programs to convert models. They are work in progress as I find things going on that blow game balance out of the water, such as the British naval always fire first with major to hit bonuses and much better troop quality situations. Even though that's exactly what was going on IRL, within the game mechanics it was causing 28 lost ships and 1 hit (yes HIT) in return, which was not IRL.

I've fixed Pressburg and Tilsit so that they are no longer date dependent (France can go after Prussia first, for example). RHC may be formed after either Tilsit or Pressburg fires OR may fire in 1806 if France chooses to be a nice guy. So no longer forced into war.

My next focus will be on Westphalia (which will occur after Tilsit and not date dependent).

Then, I'll get to Schronbrunn. It's a really a second treaty after first. As the PBEM progresses and people launch unscripted wars, I'll be creating scripts to deal with peace that will become incorporated into the MOD for non-scripted play. I'm expecting that each Major Power will have 2 peace events per for each Power. Britain can go to war with Prussia, etc...The challenge will be to have peace that doesn't conflict with the scripted peace events.

Finally, the diplomatic engine can be used for non-scripted peace as well. I read that the engine will support choosing the defeated power and forming up the peace that you want. If this is true, it would open up agreements between players and I may not need the "unscripted" peace events.

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Wed Feb 10, 2016 9:11 pm

For Pressburg, Tilsit and Schronbrunn, what I'm doing is simplifying them. KISS - keep it simple stupid. There's 14 inter-related events for Pressburg alone. I'm removing over half of them. When Nappy takes Wien, Austria shouldn't have a choice. Why would Austria do it? Supply is an issue for France. As Austria, I'd force France to move deeper into Austria or just sit on Wien and while that is happening, I can maneuver troops, possibly with Russian help to threaten the French LOC.

So once Nappy takes Wien, boom, the option becomes available to France and if chosen, fires off the entire process. Comparing morale has been removed. All that matters is France owns Wien, is at war with Austria and has 75 elements in Austria.

Lands are ceeded immediately. Money, Horses and War Supplies will be transferred 4 times within the next year. I noticed that the transfer doesn't actually come from Austria. France just gets money, horses and war supplies increased with nothing happening to Austria. I've changed that. 4 times a year, 500 is added to France and 500 is reduced from Austria. Same with horses (125 each quarter) and War Supplies (125 each quarter).

So, yet to actually test the new Pressburg in our PBEM. Another reason to have some help with testing.

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Wed Feb 10, 2016 10:35 pm

And i just fixed up Tilsit. 29 Events. So I've cut down 29 options down to 7. There's still numerous problems in Tilsit. I haven't been looking at the forums, but I'm guessing that people are reporting issues.

Russia has it's own series of Tilsit events that I thought initially was related to Russia conquering Prussia, but it isn't. Once France takes what it needs, if at war with Russia and Prussia accepts Tilsit, another event is displayed with Russia to have peace with France and cedes the Ionian Islands. That event will never be selected by Russian player. Ever. Why would they ever accept peace as a human player? "Ok France, Russia will not have peace and if you don't like it, come into mother Russia and lets figure this out" (and we all know what can happen with that).

So now when France has met requirements, and fires option, everything else automatically happens. No choice for Russia or for Prussia. Western lands are ceded, Russia (if at war with France at the time), cedes the Ionians. Peace is put in place between France and Prussia (and Russia if at war) that lasts for 48 turns (1 year). War indemnities are paid by Prussia (only) every 12 turns. I added War Supplies and Horses to the indemnities as they were only giving money and I know Nappy raided Prussia for horses and war supplies. Prussia is now going to get dinged for the amounts that it's giving France.

tony luke
Corporal
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:53 am

Wed Feb 10, 2016 11:28 pm

Hi Vicberg,

You mentioned above that you had the changes you noted included in the 4 Feb Patch? I have that patch installed and captured Wein in July 1805 and yet the Pressburg peace has not yet fired and I am in Early September?

Cheers,

AKL

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:31 am

Are you using my mod? If so, I just got Pressburg, etc., fixed so I'll need to deploy a new release. If not, then I'm still seeing issues within these base game events.

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Thu Feb 11, 2016 4:45 am

I'm seeing the same problem in all peace events in the AIActivate events. I fixed these once already for AGEOD, but it looks like the bug keeps creeping back in. The bolded line is incorrect. The event is displayed to the user and set to 1 if the user clicks on it. The AI doesn't click on Events, so the bolded line that checks for the clicked event will NEVER get set to 1. So this event will NEVER fire.

SelectFaction = FRA

StartEvent = evt_nam_FRA_PeaceOfPressburg_AIActivate|1|0|NULL|NULL|NULL|NULL

Conditions
MinDate = 1805/10/01

CheckAILevel = 1

SelectFaction = AUS
SelectFaction = AUS
EvalIsAtWarWith = FRA

SelectFaction = FRA
SelectFaction = FRA
[color="#FF8C00"] CheckOption = $gmaOptionGov;FRA_PeaceOfPressburg;=;1[/color]
CanPayOption = $gmaOptionGov;FRA_PeaceOfPressburg
Probability = 100

Actions
ChangeOption = $gmaOptionGov;FRA_PeaceOfPressburg;1

EndEvent

For AIActivate, this must change to

[color="#FF8C00"]EvalEvent = evt_nam_FRA_PeaceOfPressburg_On;=;1[/color]

Which then doesn't care if a user has clicked on event or not, just that the conditions have been met to display the event to the user. The AI will then activate, set the FRA_PeaceOfPressburg to 1 and the rest of the peace treaty fires off correctly.

tony luke
Corporal
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:53 am

Thu Feb 11, 2016 7:00 am

Hi Vic, nearly finished downloading your mod (1.4G down .4 to go....), noting the above post have you changed that in the current mod?

Cheers,

Tony

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Thu Feb 11, 2016 2:34 pm

Yes

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7578
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Fri Feb 12, 2016 3:55 pm

vicberg wrote:I'm seeing the same problem in all peace events in the AIActivate events. I fixed these once already for AGEOD, but it looks like the bug keeps creeping back in. The bolded line is incorrect. The event is displayed to the user and set to 1 if the user clicks on it. The AI doesn't click on Events, so the bolded line that checks for the clicked event will NEVER get set to 1. So this event will NEVER fire.

SelectFaction = FRA

StartEvent = evt_nam_FRA_PeaceOfPressburg_AIActivate|1|0|NULL|NULL|NULL|NULL

Conditions
MinDate = 1805/10/01

CheckAILevel = 1

SelectFaction = AUS
SelectFaction = AUS
EvalIsAtWarWith = FRA

SelectFaction = FRA
SelectFaction = FRA
CheckOption = $gmaOptionGov;FRA_PeaceOfPressburg;=;1
CanPayOption = $gmaOptionGov;FRA_PeaceOfPressburg
Probability = 100

Actions
ChangeOption = $gmaOptionGov;FRA_PeaceOfPressburg;1

EndEvent

For AIActivate, this must change to

EvalEvent = evt_nam_FRA_PeaceOfPressburg_On;=;1

Which then doesn't care if a user has clicked on event or not, just that the conditions have been met to display the event to the user. The AI will then activate, set the FRA_PeaceOfPressburg to 1 and the rest of the peace treaty fires off correctly.



mea culpa. Fixed this in all the AUS, PRU and RUS options, but overlooked the 4 places in FRA that needed fix.
Corrected and submitted for next patch.
Thanks
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Fri Feb 12, 2016 5:03 pm

Most of the Kingdom events have same issue for AIActivate

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Fri Feb 12, 2016 6:36 pm

MOD Update

Between PBEM and volunteers, I'm getting some feedback on mod. I'm adjusting as we continue to play test.

Clarifications

1) The AI isn’t sufficient to manage satellites in terms of builds, replacements or economy. So ALL satellites (including Bavaria) are treated as part of France and Saxony starts as Prussian. There’s a loss of flavor, but it’s for game play and allows for the building of multi-national forces, since expeditionary forces only gives a single unit (no way you can build 200,000 multi-national forces with the game as is). So it’s a trade-off.
2) All major powers have the ability to move onto a capital of a minor they are at war with 30 elements. If they have 1000 money and 100 EP and they control the capital, the minor will be annexed. This means total control over all economic, military and force pool assets. The cost is 20 relationship to ALL other powers

Changes with this Release

1) I’ve fixed Catalonia, Holland Annexation, Kingdom of Holland, Annexation of Oldenburg, Annexation of Hannover events
2) Date dependencies have been removed from the events
3) Annexation of Holland is dependent upon creating the Kingdom of Holland
4) All events cost 1000 money and 100 EP. This will slow down the French and force French to choose between building troops versus expanding the economy. This will force other major powers the same choices. If I've done this correctly, France will be pretty much done with Kingdom/Annexations by 1810, which is roughly historical, and at the cost of building troops. This will be proven out during play testing.
5) The locked events were unlocking before the player actually met the requirements for firing the event. This meant that firing an event might do nothing because the full criteria wasn't met. I've changed the locked events so they do not unlock until the player has met the full requirements. Also, if a minor has already been annexed via war and conquering the capital, the annexation event will no longer be available.
6) Attrition movement has been reduced
7) Ship replacement cost has been reduced and larger ships require more replacements. This should balance out the replacement cost versus the wildly varying cost of the ship itself.

To do

1) Fix remaining events
2) Adjust economic as needed
3) Fix all of the display text as it is out of date with the event changes

As always, if you are interested in play testing, PM me with your email.

bodierich
Conscript
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 4:56 am

Sun Feb 14, 2016 4:32 am

I'm having a difficult time getting the Mod to run. I've installed it but I get this error message when I try to start the game -
ULocalize.LoadLocalStrings file not found C:\Program Files (x86)\Matrix Games\Wars Of Napoleon\ED\Settings\LocalStrings*.csv
I would appreciate any help you can give.

vicberg
AGEod Grognard
Posts: 968
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:18 am

Sun Feb 14, 2016 4:38 am

Email me at vicberg@comcast.net and we'll figure out what happened

Return to “Wars of Napoleon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests