Siegfroh
Major
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 4:30 pm
Contact: Website

Mon Jul 25, 2016 11:13 am

Damascus doesn't have wool as a resource, but still has got a working farm producing it:

[ATTACH]39431[/ATTACH]
Attachments
Zwischenablage01.jpg

RedStinger
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:35 am

Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:27 pm

Hi guys, it's pretty great that a new patch is planned soon. Could I suggest to raise quite a bit the spawning of generals ? Or to create an option to pay for new generals (player could choose his rank) ? Could these spawn with one or two skills, or could they acquire new ones as they fight battles ?

Maybe that would also help the AI to split its armies and fleets.

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:45 pm

Playing latest beta patch as Japan- I've received these script error notifications 3 times; as I've re-run the games due to not saving my main game separately, so I had to re-run it, and thought Tech innovations didn't fire properly so I re-ran it a third (apparently there is a randomness to how Tech's fire). These all occurred early or late July 1850.

[ATTACH]39443[/ATTACH][ATTACH]39444[/ATTACH][ATTACH]39445[/ATTACH]

The complete list of culprit lines: 46670, 46770, 46695, 46795, 45250, 45356, 46820

I have the saves, just not sure how to upload them.

None of these script errors is fatal, as I'm able to continue on with my game.

Experience Pips are still not being displayed.
Attachments
newbug6.PNG
latejune1850.PNG
latejune1850x2.PNG

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13362
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Wed Jul 27, 2016 8:42 am

To help, I need the script report, to understand what is wrong here...unless the script language syntax changed (I doubt it), nothing is wrong with ChangeLoyaltyFac (see http://www.ageod.net/agewiki/ChangeLoyaltyFac), but may be the target area is missing, hence the error
Image

Siegfroh
Major
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 4:30 pm
Contact: Website

Thu Jul 28, 2016 7:21 pm

By the way, are there any plans when the next patch (intermediate or final) will come out ?

Tomorrow ? In a week ? In a month ? For Christmas ?

I am really lookig forward to give the game another try.

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13362
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Fri Jul 29, 2016 8:04 am

I believe it was mentioned by Pocus that the patch was the last one. If errors are only script or data, I believe most can be fixed without need of the dev. We should need to make a central collection thread/post to register all reported issues so that they can be investigated.
Image

Siegfroh
Major
Posts: 240
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2015 4:30 pm
Contact: Website

Sat Jul 30, 2016 10:44 am

PhilThib wrote:I believe it was mentioned by Pocus that the patch was the last one.

You mean: the next one shall be the last one ? However, a quick patch for those issues which already have been repaired (e.g. unit experience pips shown, like user Prussia I am very fond of following the development of my units) might encourage some players to start a new game and record all still prevailing issues. At least, it would encourage me ...

PhilThib wrote:We should need to make a central collection thread/post to register all reported issues so that they can be investigated.

An intermediate patch would also be an occasion to start gathering all issues systematically. If not, most messages posted here from June onwards mention a bug or issue.

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Sat Jul 30, 2016 3:51 pm

[ATTACH]39485[/ATTACH][ATTACH]39482[/ATTACH][ATTACH]39481[/ATTACH]

Phillipe:

Brand new restart of latest beta as Japan- received similar messages, and was able to click through and continue, so its not fatal:


Here is the script report:

[ATTACH]39483[/ATTACH]
Attachments
2016-07-30 10_54_24-2016-07-30 10_29_10-Greenshot.png
ScriptReport2405.rar
(294.96 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
2016-07-30 10_35_32-2016-07-30 10_29_29-Greenshot.png

vaalen
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1138
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:48 pm

Sat Jul 30, 2016 4:35 pm

PhilThib wrote:I believe it was mentioned by Pocus that the patch was the last one. If errors are only script or data, I believe most can be fixed without need of the dev. We should need to make a central collection thread/post to register all reported issues so that they can be investigated.


The next patch will be the last. I hope it is a good one, because this is the greatest game ever made, and needs to be fixed.

You have explained the time situation, and I understand. I do not blame you, and I am not asking for a change in this position, as your time situation is so dire.

But I am very sad.

Good idea about the central collection point, and let us make the best of it.

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Sun Jul 31, 2016 4:32 pm

Here is a screen cap that shows two issues- a script error and a incorrectly displayed tool tip string. In the past when you hovered over a province it would show your current status of neutrality or at war. Now it just shows the string.

[ATTACH]39491[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH]39492[/ATTACH]
Attachments
ScriptReport2429.rar
(297.45 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
2016-07-31 11_26_44-2016-07-31 02_36_45-Greenshot.png

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:53 pm

This pic displays Japanese Shipyard production- both as a notification, and in the replacement pool. Issue arises in that I have acquired Heavy Warship Parts but nothing is displayed in the Replacement Pool. Is this a function of the fact that at this time Japan has no Heavy Warships, at least according to Technology and what I am currently able to build? Or is an image missing?

[ATTACH]39497[/ATTACH]
Attachments
2016-07-31 23_45_43-2016-07-31 02_17_02-Greenshot.png

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:55 pm

Another String issue, located in the US midwest- this one pops up on a regular basis.

[ATTACH]39498[/ATTACH]
Attachments
2016-07-31 23_47_07-2016-07-31 21_32_22-Greenshot.png

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:57 pm

This image displays the result of Japan's diplomatic request for Mutual Supply with Great Britain, France, iirc USA- basically told me to stuff myself. This type of string error happens on a regular basis with Japan.

[ATTACH]39499[/ATTACH]

Another example with the missing description of region affinity:

[ATTACH]39500[/ATTACH]
Attachments
2016-07-31 23_48_56-2016-07-31 21_26_47-Greenshot.png
2016-07-31 23_47_51-2016-07-31 02_16_13-Greenshot.png

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:14 pm

This image shows Japanese Merchants in the American Pacific Maritime Trade box, but I am unable to access or buy commodities or goods:

[ATTACH]39501[/ATTACH]

This is another example of no access allowed in the region of the East Indies Maritime Box:

[ATTACH]39502[/ATTACH]

Whereas I have no issue in other regions, e.g.:

[ATTACH]39503[/ATTACH]

One additional oddity or bug- no full description for American Pacific Maritime Trade box displayed in List of Forces:

[ATTACH]39504[/ATTACH]
Attachments
2016-08-01 12_05_55-2016-08-01 00_56_15-Greenshot.png
2016-08-01 12_04_53-2016-08-01 00_32_08-Greenshot.png
2016-08-01 12_05_14-2016-08-01 00_33_38-Greenshot.png
2016-08-01 12_00_08-2016-08-01 00_31_26-Greenshot.png - IrfanView (Zoom_ 3333 x 1875).jpg

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:00 pm

Early March 1852 I receive this but no corresponding information box or decision box:

[ATTACH]39509[/ATTACH]
Attachments
2016-08-02 06_56_09-2016-08-01 23_19_10-Greenshot.png

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:13 pm

Prussia wrote:Early March 1852 I receive this but no corresponding information box or decision box:

[ATTACH]39509[/ATTACH]


I happened to look in the Faction Main Section, and I found the Decision Point for this event. Mea culpa.

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Fri Aug 05, 2016 5:24 pm

Two locations without identifying owning Nation flag:

[ATTACH]39537[/ATTACH][ATTACH]39538[/ATTACH]

An notification of an error regarding duplicate structures; I've seen this only once before, but not sure if it is a general error or something related to the faction I'm playing. It pops up during turn resolution- and in this case it shows the area around Adana; I'm currently playing Japan:

[ATTACH]39539[/ATTACH]

Here are two screen shots of an Ammunition producer- Imperial Artillery Arsenal (Katana Co. may have the same problem but I didn't check it in depth... I will do that on next boot up) that has all the input resources that it requires but produces no Ammunition. It correctly produces steel and supply but no ammunition. Am I missing something? A tech requirement? Not enough productivity?

[ATTACH]39540[/ATTACH][ATTACH]39541[/ATTACH]

Thanks again.
Attachments
2016-08-04 02_37_48-2016-08-03 21_46_22-Greenshot.png
2016-08-04 02_38_28-2016-08-03 21_46_37-Greenshot.png
2016-08-04 02_36_32-2016-08-02 07_18_51-Greenshot.png
2016-08-05 11_59_04-2016-08-04 21_12_47-Greenshot.png
2016-08-05 11_59_31-2016-08-04 21_13_33-Greenshot.png

User avatar
loki100
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1998
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:15 pm
Location: Glasgow
Contact: Website Twitter

Sat Aug 06, 2016 8:10 am

For your ammo, my guess is that the base production is low enough that some other weakness - infrastructure or lack of tech - means the effective production is <1. You see this a lot in poorly developed provinces.

The Pacific trade box is an odd one. I could never trade with that region regardless of ships and knowling full well it had items for sale. I *think* the issue is that the US AI doesn't build a collection centre so the entire region remains disconnected both from the rest of the US and from maritime trade.
AJE The Hero, The Traitor and The Barbarian
PoN Manufacturing Italy; A clear bright sun
RoP The Mightiest Empires Fall
WIA Burning down the Houses; Wars in America; The Tea Wars

User avatar
loki100
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1998
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:15 pm
Location: Glasgow
Contact: Website Twitter

Sat Aug 06, 2016 8:11 am

For your ammo, my guess is that the base production is low enough that some other weakness - infrastructure or lack of tech - means the effective production is <1. You see this a lot in poorly developed provinces.

The Pacific trade box is an odd one. I could never trade with that region regardless of ships and knowling full well it had items for sale. I *think* the issue is that the US AI doesn't build a collection centre so the entire region remains disconnected both from the rest of the US and from maritime trade.
AJE The Hero, The Traitor and The Barbarian
PoN Manufacturing Italy; A clear bright sun
RoP The Mightiest Empires Fall
WIA Burning down the Houses; Wars in America; The Tea Wars

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Sat Aug 06, 2016 4:11 pm

Thanks Loki.

I keep seeing the "Overall Productivity" as possibly being the culprit. I'll keep trying to boost the various regions and see what happens. Though at this point due to rapidly increasing Japanese trade revenues I'm brute forcing the startup of new production facilities, and hopefully I'll cross the Rubicon at some point.

Re. Trade boxes- as Japan I encounter this in many areas- but as you say: no collection points could be the culprit as in the early years its very plausible that many of these areas could very well not have collection points built.

Btw- an avid reader of your Italian AAR- a great read, and a wonderful learning tool for PON... many thanks.

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Sat Aug 06, 2016 4:11 pm

Thanks Loki.

I keep seeing the "Overall Productivity" as possibly being the culprit. I'll keep trying to boost the various regions and see what happens. Though at this point due to rapidly increasing Japanese trade revenues I'm brute forcing the startup of new production facilities, and hopefully I'll cross the Rubicon at some point.

Re. Trade boxes- as Japan I encounter this in many areas- but as you say: no collection points could be the culprit as in the early years its very plausible that many of these areas could very well not have collection points built.

Btw- an avid reader of your Italian AAR- a great read, and a wonderful learning tool for PON... many thanks.

User avatar
sirhiggins
Sergeant
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri May 01, 2015 6:52 pm
Location: Budapest/Hungary

Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:29 am

Will be this save compatible?

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Mon Aug 08, 2016 1:12 pm

IIRC it was noted in patch release that it is not prior iteration save compatible.

Mr Bill
Corporal
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:41 am

Tue Aug 09, 2016 5:50 am

Not sure if this is where we are compiling issues for the patch, but one issue I'd like to raise is replacements do not seem to be working correctly. More specifically, replacements do replenish your troops, but they never seem to decrease in number once you purchase them.

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:54 am

Mr. Bill- as Japan mine seem to be working okay. Mostly naval and transport vessels. And definitely Land units of all types are being replenished and stocks going down.

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:52 am

- In latest patch E/R for cycling/selection of land units is working; whereas T/Y for naval units is not working.

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:04 pm

Some more things I've run across as Japan in latest patch:

- A bad string regarding a Treaty signed with the West

[ATTACH]39565[/ATTACH]

- A treaty related error popup

[ATTACH]39566[/ATTACH]

- Another treaty related string; can't recall if the Open and Defend button actually did something- don't want to send anyone on a Wild Goose chase, since either way it did not impede game progress, I'd ignore my mention

[ATTACH]39567[/ATTACH]

- At one point I thought my save might have been corrupted since Fruits were not showing up in my Trade screen (just received my first batch)- they eventually did, items increased from 30 to 31 (several others are not showing as well); would chalk it up to setting up infrastructure:

[ATTACH]39568[/ATTACH]

- This string must relate to my current war with Tonkin; it hasn't displayed properly even in prior beta patches- would be nice to know some status or update regarding ones current conflicts:

[ATTACH]39569[/ATTACH]

- At some point after my first failed conflict with China; in a grab for Shanghai- they offered Peace and I accepted, as it was not hard to see the handwriting on the wall with a 5k stack heading my way in the early 1850's; and they must have granted me Supply Rights, which I've been availing myself of during my current war with Tonkin, and in the region of Ningbo I've been using that small harbor with apparently everyone else and their uncle; and while trying to select a unit this popped up, and you can see two blank spaces in the unit bar- those units disappeared, but reloading the save everything was back as it should. I think there were just too many units in that location, and something went bonkers upon unit selection:

[ATTACH]39570[/ATTACH]

- In the same area, and right after getting the popup all my units began to display numbers instead of unit names- again a restart cleared everything up:

- [ATTACH]39571[/ATTACH]

- Right after the Treaties with the West I had been signed, construction of a Commerce Steamer commenced, but on the unit production screen there is a negative number displayed; again not a game breaker:

[ATTACH]39572[/ATTACH]

- Concurrent with announcement of the Treaties going into effect I get a notice of 2 ships being laid down, but only one could I find:

[ATTACH]39573[/ATTACH]

And lastly, as many have mentioned- no experience pips showing up. This is the one thing that I would really like to be fixed- its hard to track and gain affinity for favorite or preferred units as you really don't know their progression and development:

[ATTACH]39574[/ATTACH]

Again, thank you for looking at this and providing us with such a marvelous game.
Attachments
2016-08-09 15_08_20-2016-08-01 12_30_02-Greenshot.png
2016-08-09 14_47_23-2016-08-05 12_52_10-Greenshot.png
2016-08-06 11_26_54-2016-08-06 02_38_07-Greenshot.png
2016-08-06 11_27_42-2016-08-05 12_53_21-Greenshot.png
2016-08-09 10_24_25-2016-08-06 11_26_15-2016-08-05 23_41_59-Greenshot.png
2016-08-09 10_21_46-2016-08-09 02_54_40-Greenshot.png
2016-08-09 10_22_45-2016-08-08 01_52_05-Greenshot.png
2016-08-09 10_25_41-2016-08-05 12_30_27-Greenshot.png
2016-08-09 10_21_31-2016-08-08 14_45_59-Greenshot.png
2016-08-09 10_21_00-2016-08-08 08_53_04-Greenshot.png

Mr Bill
Corporal
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:41 am

Thu Aug 11, 2016 2:55 am

Prussia wrote:Mr. Bill- as Japan mine seem to be working okay. Mostly naval and transport vessels. And definitely Land units of all types are being replenished and stocks going down.



Maybe it is a problem with the 1880 scenario then? I haven't been playing the 1850 scenario, as the time period around 1880 seems more interesting to me.

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Thu Aug 11, 2016 5:38 am

That 'might' be it but it is the same exec. afterall. Try reinstalling with anti-virus off; I know in early 1.04 I had the immortal garrison bug, though it had been fixed for that iteration/version, so it was suggested to me to do a reinstall with no antivirus on, and it worked like a charm. Try that, and keep/save ur save game and try again.

Prussia
Lieutenant
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:00 am

Thu Aug 11, 2016 9:50 am

Early January 1857 the motherlode of regional script errors kicked in. I'll post a sample of the pics, as there are 25 errors in all. Mostly in India, Burma, etc.

[ATTACH]39594[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH]39595[/ATTACH]

Occurred in three formats/types:

Script Engine Errors while parsing ... SelectRegion = SRINIGAR
Script Engine Errors while parsing... SelectSubUnits= $Area_Western_India;FactionTags IND
Script Engine Errors while parsing... ChangeLoyaltyFac = 10

[ATTACH]39596[/ATTACH][ATTACH]39597[/ATTACH][ATTACH]39598[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH]39599[/ATTACH][ATTACH]39600[/ATTACH]

If you need the full list of line numbers I still have the pics and can post the line numbers (sure you didn't need 25 pics cluttering things up).

Kind regards.
Attachments
2016-08-11 04_23_32-2016-08-10 22_23_24-Greenshot.png
2016-08-11 00_43_53-2016-08-09 18_20_34-Greenshot.png
2016-08-11 04_37_43-2016-08-10 22_24_20-Greenshot.png
2016-08-11 04_40_42-2016-08-10 22_24_04-Greenshot.png
2016-08-11 04_40_52-2016-08-10 22_24_00-Greenshot.png
Scripts.rar
(935.89 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
ScriptReport2570.rar
(281.8 KiB) Downloaded 22 times

Return to “Help improve PON”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest