rouge1701
Conscript
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 4:44 pm

Loading Screen CTD

Mon Sep 12, 2016 5:18 pm

The game had been running fine for me until yesterday. I'd played multiple Gettysburg and Shiloh campaigns with no problems. I even got 30 turns into the Grand Campaign to get a feel for it. I tried to play this morning, and now it can't get past the loading screen. I don't know what happened.

11:36:55 AM (Reporting) User: SFC Computer: LCARS-PC
11:36:55 AM (Reporting) Loading general settings
11:36:49 AM (Reporting) USettings.LoadSettings 847 settings loaded, out of 7 settings files.
11:36:49 AM (Reporting) Loading Localized Strings
11:36:57 AM (Reporting) System local strings loaded from C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Civil War II\CW2\Settings\LocalStrings__AGE.csv
11:36:57 AM (Reporting) Loading Display Options
11:36:57 AM (Reporting) Entering DirectX Initializations
11:36:57 AM (Reporting) LocalStrings & Settings 9544 ms
11:36:57 AM (Reporting) Cursors 7 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) DirectX Initializations 407 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Fonts 4 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TTerrainDefs.Create 114 Terrains definitions loaded, out of 57 terrains files.
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Terrains Definitions 941 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Areas Loading 431 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Areas 433 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Theaters 0 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Particles I 0 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TAbiDefs.Create 109 Abilities loaded, out of 109 abilities files.
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Units Abilities 71 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TStrucDefs.LoadFromFile 27 StrucDef loaded, out of 27 StrucDef files.
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Structures 65 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TFactionDefs.LoadFromFile 14 FactionDef loaded, out of 14 FactionDef files.
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Factions 26 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Application.Initialize OK
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TSplash.Create OK
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TSplash.Show OK
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TSplash.Repaint OK
11:36:56 AM (Reporting) USettings.LoadSettings 847 settings loaded, out of 7 settings files.
11:36:56 AM (Reporting) Loading Localized Strings
11:37:06 AM (Reporting) System local strings loaded from C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Civil War II\CW2\Settings\LocalStrings__AGE.csv
11:37:06 AM (Reporting) Loading Display Options
11:37:06 AM (Reporting) Entering DirectX Initializations
11:37:06 AM (Reporting) LocalStrings & Settings 10683 ms
11:37:06 AM (Reporting) Cursors 5 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) DirectX Initializations 834 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Fonts 2 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TTerrainDefs.Create 114 Terrains definitions loaded, out of 57 terrains files.
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Terrains Definitions 1476 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Areas Loading 714 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Areas 716 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Theaters 0 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Particles I 0 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TAbiDefs.Create 109 Abilities loaded, out of 109 abilities files.
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Units Abilities 122 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TStrucDefs.LoadFromFile 27 StrucDef loaded, out of 27 StrucDef files.
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Structures 138 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TFactionDefs.LoadFromFile 14 FactionDef loaded, out of 14 FactionDef files.
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Factions 23 ms
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Application.Initialize OK
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TSplash.Create OK
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TSplash.Show OK
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TSplash.Repaint OK
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Starting Media Librarian
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Game Engine version: CW2 1.06.1 (August 17th, 2016)
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) Max Texture size: 16384 x 16384
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TAgeAudio Initializing Audio Engine
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TMediaLibrarian.InitializeSounds 146 sounds loaded.
11:38:39 AM (Reporting) TMediaLibrarian.InitializeMusics 20 Musics loaded.
11:38:39 AM --- End of Log ---

--Edit--
I think the culprit is the system option 'textures initialized'. When it's on, the game won't load. I've uninstalled and reinstalled 4 times, and I'm pretty sure that's responsible. That was the only option I changed on the last install, and it wouldn't load after that.

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 24957
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:43 am

Indeed, this might be very well the issue, some computers are not working well with this option. The log don't change any error what's more.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
pgr
General
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:33 pm
Location: Paris France (by way of Wyoming)

Re: Loading Screen CTD

Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:30 am

I was going to post a similar issue. The game is crashing while trying to load textures. (was not an issue until the current patch.)

The crash is followed by the following error message. "exception access violation dans le module cw2.exe dans 0050A819. violation d'acces a l'addresse 00000000."

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 24957
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Re: Loading Screen CTD

Tue Oct 25, 2016 1:20 pm

you can disable texture loading outside the game, go to the installation folder and then to CW2\settings\general.opt which is a text file, then from there make sure that this entry is at 0
TexAtStart = 0

Taillebois
General
Posts: 533
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 8:09 pm

Re: Loading Screen CTD

Tue Oct 25, 2016 10:46 pm

Thanks, I had this problem just now and changing TexAtStart to 0 worked.

User avatar
pgr
General
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:33 pm
Location: Paris France (by way of Wyoming)

Re: Loading Screen CTD

Wed Oct 26, 2016 8:54 pm

It works for me to. It does beg the question why that line of code exists :) Is there some advantage in having the load up feature activated?

Return to “CW2 Technical support / Aide technique”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests