Helk
Civilian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 1:47 pm

Modding Force Pools, etc.

Sat Jun 25, 2016 2:02 pm

Hello. I've been around the forums quite a bit, but I have yet to figure out how to modify the force pool. On another post, it stated that it could be found and changed in the Scens folder, and while I'll be the first to admit that I'm not very good at modding and am quite new to it, I could not figure out how. Any help would be appreciated!

On another note, how does one change the amount of elements allowed in a division?

Lastly, how would one change the starting resources? I ask this because I went the single element unit pathway and it'll be late 1862 before I have enough troops to even begin offensive operations.

johandenver2
Lieutenant
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 9:46 pm

Sat Jun 25, 2016 11:59 pm

Forcepools can be edited in an event like below:

SelectFaction = USA
StartEvent = evt_nam_USA_CWDB_Forcepool_USCT64|1|1|NULL|NULL|NULL|NULL

Conditions
FixedDate = 1864/07/01

Actions

ChangeUnitPool = $uni_USA_Art2USCT;20

EndEvent



Regarding division max size I think you change the value in GameLogic.opt below:

subMaxNbPerUnit = 18

I haven't messed with starting resources yet but they should be in the scenario files. Although you could add resources through events as well I think.

Helk
Civilian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 1:47 pm

Sun Jun 26, 2016 5:24 pm

Thanks for the help. So I assume that I need to make a new event for the force pool? And also I'm a bit confused about the StartEvent thing.

johandenver2
Lieutenant
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 9:46 pm

Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:36 am

I would create a new file containing only your own events and then add the name of that file to the scenario event file.
The name of the event (after StartEvent=) can be anything, it's just a name for the event that will be displayed in the messagebox within the game.
The unitArt2USCT does not exist in the original game, it's a unit I've created in my mod. Just change this to whatever alias you want to modify.

This goes in your new file Events\MyEvent.sct:
SelectFaction = USA
StartEvent = evt_nam_USA_MyChangesToTheForcePool|1|1|NULL|NULL|NULL|NULL

Conditions
FixedDate = 1864/07/01

Actions

ChangeUnitPool = $uni_USA_Art2USCT;20

EndEvent

Then add MyEvent.sct to 1861 April Campaign.sct (if this is the scenario you want to change) in the section below:

...
...
SelectFaction = CMN
SelectRegion = $Prince_George_MD
StartEvent = evt_nam_CMN_SecondWarningNoCorpsBefore1862|1|2|evt_txt_CMN_SecondWarningNoCorpsBefore1862|Event-img_CSA_ConscriptionAct1864|$Prince_George_MD|NULL

Conditions
MinDate = 1861/08/01

Actions

EndEvent
CSA Events.sct
USA Events.sct
OptionsKY_1861.sct
OptionsKY_1862.sct
Options_Slaves.sct
OptionsMil_July61.sct
OptionsGov_July61.sct
OptionsInd_July61.sct
OptionsDip_July61.sct
CSA Leaders.sct
USA Leaders.sct
Secession Events.sct
USADistantBlockades.sct
Various Events.sct
Balances.sct
Foreign Entry.sct
1861 CSA AI.sct
1861 USA AI.sct
Emergency USA Militias.sct
Emergency CSA Militias.sct
RegionsDecisionsRenewal.sct
MyEvent.sct
NULL = NULL

SelectFaction = CSA
SelectRegion = $Fayette_KY
...
...

Helk
Civilian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 1:47 pm

Tue Jun 28, 2016 3:16 am

Thank for your help. It worked perfectly.

Helk
Civilian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 1:47 pm

Re: Modding Force Pools, etc.

Sat Nov 26, 2016 4:09 pm

It's been a long time, but I'm determined to finish what I started back in June. I'm not sure if it has worked for anyone else, but "subMaxNbPerUnit" (changing the amount of elements allowed in a division) never worked for me. I'm not sure if there is something else I need to change or what...?

Return to “CW2 Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest