Captain_Orso - I know he was in defensive posture because my opponent told me he was as we are trying to figure this out together. I assume you viewed my other post as i think your referring to him trying to leave on Defensive posture. This post is referring to him entering the regions a few turns before on orange/orange
Plain and simple, if the stack entering the region was in OP (Offensive Posture) there should likely have been a battle. The only exception to this, with regards to fairly large stacks, which these were, might be, if the moving stack arrived on the very last day, and there was no time for a battle to start because of the 'battle delay' set in options by the player executing the turn.
Even if that were the case, during the next turn, the game engine checks the status of MC and ROE (Posture) on day one. If the enemy stack has less than 5% MC, unless in PP (Passive Posture), it will immediately gain 5% MC, and be changed to OP; with all the consequences associated with that, which would most certainly mean battle.
lightbrave wrote:So based on your second paragraph an entire Army can cross a river and enter my 100% MC region without having to attack. This makes hiding behind rivers pretty much useless. And by the way as stated in my original post, he went in orange/orange as i was told by him.
Yes, that is the situation, which is not to say, there are no consequences for being in that situation. I am not advocating for the rule, only reporting on it.
lightbrave wrote:I do get what your saying about moving cavalry behind him to cut off retreat but again based on your second paragraph he could just go green/green evade and enter the region anyways.
No, you cannot block a stack from moving into a region by having your own stack in the region. You might do battle with it, but you are already in the stack's region doing battle, so it would be questionable, although in some circumstances, it might be a good move. It would really depend greatly on the situation.
What I was getting at is the ZOC Rule (Zone Of Control): Explain Zone of Control...
An enemy stack in your region requires enough MC in a region in order to move into that region. The rule basically is meant to prevent an enemy stack from simply moving through your region and out the other side into a region where it has little or no MC.
If the enemy loses enough MC in the region of origin of the enemy stack, the enemy stack will not be capable of moving or routing
into that region.
lightbrave wrote:Let me know if i am misunderstanding you..... especially in regards to your second paragraph.