Blood and Thunder Brigade
Corporal
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:56 pm
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Big Problem

Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:03 pm

So Windows 10 tells me my computer needs updates, etc, and after ignoring that for a few months I figure what possible harm could it do and decide about 2 weeks ago to do the updates. Big mistake. After having played this game for over a year without any trace of a problem it crashes on me while trying to reload a previous turn, and then wouldn't allow me to access the game at all. So I decided to system restore and reloaded the game which got me all the way through to the start menu and I thought the problem was solved, but no. Upon loading a new game, I see that everything seems to be in working order, but hold on! I can't see my frickin' units anywhere. There's absolutely no trace of them on the map. If they're inside a city or garrison and I click on them I am able to see them on the underlying units panel, but they don't pop up like they normally would. What the hell?? Am I missing something? I'm hoping this is an easy fix, but my gut says otherwise.

User avatar
Nikel
Posts: 2085
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Expaña

Re: Big Problem

Mon Jul 31, 2017 8:55 pm

The first thing I would do is uninstall the game, then delete the folder with any file that may remain.

Restart the computer, install and patch the game.

Blood and Thunder Brigade
Corporal
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:56 pm
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Re: Big Problem

Mon Jul 31, 2017 10:30 pm

Nikel wrote:The first thing I would do is uninstall the game, then delete the folder with any file that may remain.

Restart the computer, install and patch the game.


Cheers.
Did a uninstall/reinstall and it's working now, but I'm using the 1.6.3 patch, which I'm not sure I really like yet. Does anyone know where I can find the 1.6 patch?

User avatar
Captain_Orso
Posts: 5517
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:02 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Big Problem

Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:39 pm

Don't forget to re-patch Windows and then do your backups again ;)

User avatar
Nikel
Posts: 2085
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Expaña

Re: Big Problem

Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:38 pm

Blood and Thunder Brigade wrote: Does anyone know where I can find the 1.6 patch?



http://ftp.ageod.com/pub/CW2/CivilWarII ... p-v106.zip

Blood and Thunder Brigade
Corporal
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:56 pm
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Re: Big Problem

Tue Aug 01, 2017 3:31 pm

Captain_Orso wrote:Don't forget to re-patch Windows and then do your backups again ;)


Done ;)

Blood and Thunder Brigade
Corporal
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 2:56 pm
Location: Tasmania, Australia

Re: Big Problem

Tue Aug 01, 2017 3:32 pm

Nikel wrote:
Blood and Thunder Brigade wrote: Does anyone know where I can find the 1.6 patch?



http://ftp.ageod.com/pub/CW2/CivilWarII ... p-v106.zip



Thank you very much :)

Return to “Civil War II”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests