User avatar
Bamak
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 am

Russian localization of CW2

Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:49 am

Hello!
I've made russian localization of the game, but have some questions:

  1. when you select Russian language, some text is still in English (this text is highlighted in red in the screenshots below):
    Image Image
    And I have no idea, where can I find it in game files (there are no such strings in LocalStrings)

  2. text is presented in LocalStrings (and has translation), but is in English for all languages:
    Image
  3. the names of units disappear, when you select Russian language:
    Image

I would be grateful if anyone could help me with these questions.
Last edited by Bamak on Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13410
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:19 pm

For localization, all AGE games work likewise

1 - There is an engine text file (Excel format, then you save it in CSV) that works on all games and that has the language for most engine generic functions.

Herewith the latest version


2 - For the texts that are relative to the game, there is an another file only relative to the game, called Strings file, also an Excel, that is exported to CSV format too.

So for Russian localization to work, you need

A - To fill the missing texts in Russian in the EXCEL version and save it as an XLS (not CSV) source
B - Send us the XLS, which will be processed by us back into CSV files
C - Receive the CSV files from us after processing and place them inside the Settings folder of your game

That's all

:indien:
Attachments
LocalStrings_CW2_v5k.rar
Engine
(913.04 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
LocalStrings__AGE85L.rar
CW2 specific
(472.79 KiB) Downloaded 15 times

User avatar
DrPostman
Posts: 2935
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:39 pm
Location: Memphis, TN
Contact: Website Facebook Twitter YouTube

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:02 pm

Welcome ti the group Bamak! :hat:
"Ludus non nisi sanguineus"

Image

User avatar
Bamak
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Thu Jul 20, 2017 7:20 am

Thank you very much! :)

User avatar
Bamak
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Fri Jul 21, 2017 3:14 pm

And one more question: as I know, double quotes " " are forbidden, but can I use another type of double quotes like « »?

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13410
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Sun Jul 23, 2017 10:00 am

Bamak wrote:And one more question: as I know, double quotes " " are forbidden, but can I use another type of double quotes like « »?


Yes, should work...usually I prefer simple quotes, but the one you propose should be OK

NB: also never use the ;

User avatar
Bamak
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Sun Jul 23, 2017 9:25 pm

Thank you for your answer:)
PhilThib wrote:Yes, should work...usually I prefer simple quotes, but the one you propose should be OK

NB: also never use the ;


That's good, because the use of such quotation marks (« ») is more natural in the Russian language than ' '.

User avatar
Bamak
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Sat Sep 02, 2017 11:10 am

During the translation of Tutorials I've found that some text in Russian takes more space than the same text in English. Question: is the size of message window fixed or can be changed according to the text size?

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13410
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:56 pm

The window usually has a fixed size but it allows for longer text in adding "pages"...so I believe you can work on your Russian text.

User avatar
Bamak
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:47 pm

PhilThib wrote:The window usually has a fixed size but it allows for longer text in adding "pages"...so I believe you can work on your Russian text.


Did I understand correctly: when I'll receive the CSV files from you after processing, everything will be fine with the text?

I'm asking, because when I work with translation, sometimes I see the following picture:
Image

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13410
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Sun Sep 03, 2017 9:11 am

I was not thinking to this picture in particular, but I think so yes...you can see the little > < arrows on the top-right part of the window, they are normally used for scrolling inside it.

User avatar
Bamak
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:25 am

Hello!
I've finally finished the translation (except some general's biographies, maybe I'll do it later).
XLS-files with russian text:
https://yadi.sk/d/QRG0zbFe3MeKfe
https://yadi.sk/d/g--LbZ-I3MeKfz

During the translation I've found some "bugs" (maybe it will be usefull for you):
  • in the description of first tutorial (Basic Rules), when you choose new game, you don't see Lincoln's words (strTutorial1VictoryUSA), but winning conditions for Shiloh scenario (str1862ShilohVC_USA)
  • in "Tutorial - Planning the March" message Grant's Stack moves to Madison, TN, through Gibson, TN (not through Decatur) (if you simply drag and drop his counter from Ft Henry to Madison)
  • in "Tutorial - Army Inspection 2/4" message there are wrong icons of activasion (i think, they are from old version of game)
  • in "Advanced Tutorial - Army Command and Seniority 2/2" message (str_nam_Tutor3_12) should be 15 Command Points (not 13)
  • wrong names of areas:
    Area_nam_TAM (Tamaulipas, not Tampico)
    Area_nam_GRO (Guerrero, not Grosseto)

Thank you for your help! :)

User avatar
Bamak
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:39 pm

Hello!
I'm waiting for CSV-files from you after processing (XLS-files are in the post above).
P.S. I hope, 'processing' is not only 'save as' CSV :)
P.P.S. CIvil War II is not very popular game in Russia (Revolution under Siege is more), but it has its fans, who are waiting for Russian localization.

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13410
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:29 am

Will check those asap.

User avatar
Bamak
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:26 am

Hi, guys! I need your help again :)

Can you tell me, where to find the element attributes (Overview section), such as Cbt. power, Health, etc. I mean, their textual (!) values.

Image

If it is impossible to edit them, can you give a complete list of these values, for example:
Cbt. power
Nonexistent
Weak
Low
Average
Good
Superior
Deadly

Tnanks!

User avatar
Bamak
Conscript
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Russian localization of CW2

Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:50 pm

Final version of Russian localization of Civil War 2 (v. 1.6.3):
https://yadi.sk/d/ddRG6IjN3NpouU

Return to “Civil War II”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests