le Anders
Lieutenant Colonel

CWII tips?

Sun Aug 31, 2014 1:26 pm

Hi, I'm a novice at CWII, and I recently got my ass handed to me in an ongoing PBEM-match, where I play the Union. Now the rematch is coming up, where I'll play the Confederates. So I'm wondering, what is the best strategy for the Rebels to pursue?

Mickey3D

Mon Sep 01, 2014 2:51 pm

If you played to AACW, I think it is more or less the same with maybe better offensive opportunities at the beginning.

My two cents :

- Try to keep Manassas (Union will loose 10 NM late in 1861 [I don't remember the date at the moment]) : no more as critical as previously because NM is recovered more quickly than before.
- Potomac and Rappahanock rivers are good defensive lines : try to control them. Potomac may prove to be difficult (you must take Harper's Ferry and Alexandria) but the Rappahanock is a priority.
- If the North make a mistake with Washington DC...punish him ;)
- Sooner or later the Union will launch landing operation along your coasts : build a reaction force to block him or, if possible, reject him.
- Keep a force to protect New Orleans or be ready to dispatch a strong force to reject the Union from this strategic city.
- In Kentucky : Paducah, Fort Donelson, Nashville, Bowling Green are cities to control for the South.
- If Union make the mistake to let you take Louisville...be obligated to him ;) but be careful not to be cut from your Nashville base !
- Charleston (MO) is a nice place to put an artillery but the Union will without doubt fight to control this town.
- If the Union launch an offensive in Missouri, try to keep control of Springfield (MO) as long as possible. Destroy all depots you can't hold (Rolla, Springfield, forts, ...) to make life more difficult to the Union.
- Increase your rail movement pool : you need to be mobile to react to new threat and move reinforcement at the right place.
- Do not waste money and resource to fight the Union navy on the high sea.