User avatar
Templer
General
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Contact: Website

I miss the clock!

Sun Sep 22, 2013 2:08 pm

I miss the clock!

Some of my AGEOD games show a clock in the upper right corner.
I miss this lovable gimmick! :(
Greetings
Templer

User avatar
Ace
Posts: 3498
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:33 pm
Location: Croatia

Sun Sep 22, 2013 2:12 pm

Someone will miss it, someone will say it clutters the map. Difficult to please us all :)

vaalen
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1227
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:48 pm

Sun Sep 22, 2013 8:53 pm

I miss the clock as well. I have never heard of anyone complaining about it. Unfortunately, it seems in this game that we see change for the sake of change, in some instances, rather than change to improve the game, though we have seen a lot of good changes as well.

gekkoguy82
Major
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:58 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Mon Sep 23, 2013 4:35 am

Count me in with the clock-missers. It never seemed that intrusive to me!

User avatar
TheDoctorKing
Posts: 1664
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 12:56 pm
Location: Portland Oregon

Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:18 am

I liked the clock too. Sometimes, I need to be reminded how much time I'm spending on the game...
Stewart King

"There is no substitute for victory"

Depends on how you define victory.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

User avatar
Generalisimo
Posts: 4176
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 10:03 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contact: ICQ WLM

Mon Sep 23, 2013 3:53 pm

TheDoctorKing wrote:I liked the clock too. Sometimes, I need to be reminded how much time I'm spending on the game...

I am not sure that's good IMHO... something that reminds you that are investing a lot of time on CW2 is not good! :D
"History is the version of past events that people have decided to agree upon."
Napoleon Bonaparte


BOA-AAR: ¡Abajo el imperialismo Británico! (en español)

AGEOD Facebook Fanpage - news & screenshots about the upcoming games!

User avatar
Templer
General
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Contact: Website

Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:06 pm

I miss the clock.
I want to have back the clock! :)
Greetings

Templer

User avatar
jack54
Brigadier General
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:08 am
Location: East Tennessee USA

Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:29 pm

Yes, I miss the clock too...
AGE games I own; RUS ,AJE, BOR, H:ToR, AACW, WIA, ROP,NC, CWII, Espana 1936, TYW
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

User avatar
Ol' Choctaw
Posts: 1642
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:13 pm

Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:11 pm

I never even noticed it.

Don't miss it and wouldn't want anyone looking over my shoulder and seeing how long I had been on. :P

User avatar
Le Ricain
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:21 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:24 pm

I liked the clock and miss it in CW2
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

'Nous voilà, Lafayette'

Colonel C.E. Stanton, aide to A.E.F. commander John 'Black Jack' Pershing, upon the landing of the first US troops in France 1917

bgt0990
Conscript
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:07 pm

Sat Oct 26, 2013 1:46 pm

I used the clock alot and miss it. I have to ctrl-tab now to look at the desktop clock

khbynum
Major
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 8:00 pm

Sat Oct 26, 2013 2:54 pm

Are you guys serious? You want a real-time clock on the game screen? Do any of the other games you play have one? I have a clock on my desk top (the real, wooden one, not the computer monitor). I don't even remember such a clock in ACW I; perhaps I disabled it. Someone please yell at me if I have misunderstood this thread, or if this is an in-joke that I don't get.

User avatar
jack54
Brigadier General
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:08 am
Location: East Tennessee USA

Sat Oct 26, 2013 3:45 pm

What I really need is a clock with a few more hours on it... LOL,... but I think you are right, AACW may not have had a clock. (some other Ageod games do and I thought it was a nice 'signature touch'.) I have a pendulum clock in my office but find I use the 'Windows' clock more often. It's certainly not a big deal (IMHO.)


Left to right ----RUS, AJE/BOR, ROP, NC.



The attachment Ageod clocks.jpg is no longer available
Attachments
Ageod clocks.jpg
AGE games I own; RUS ,AJE, BOR, H:ToR, AACW, WIA, ROP,NC, CWII, Espana 1936, TYW

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

khbynum
Major
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 8:00 pm

Sat Oct 26, 2013 4:57 pm

Thank you for the reply, Sir. I opened up the only two other AGEod games I have installed (BoA, AJE) and indeed there are clocks. Well, BoA has what looks like a sundial, but at a a resolution that my aging eyes can stand I can't read it. I always thought they were just decorations. I also note that the non-map part of the display in those two games takes up a good 1/3 of the screen, whereas in CW II it's about 15%. So, no, I really don't want a clock. The display in a wargame should maximize the map.

minipol
General
Posts: 560
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 1:24 pm

Sat Oct 26, 2013 5:15 pm

I don't miss a clock. Why would I want something to remind me I've been playing already for too long :)

sorta
Captain
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 3:25 pm

Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:33 pm

Forcing me to look at my watch - what's next, sit-ups!

minipol
General
Posts: 560
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 1:24 pm

Tue Oct 29, 2013 4:58 pm

Hahaha, nice one ! :thumbsup:
Besides, looking at your watch when holding a beverage is *not* recommended :)

User avatar
Franciscus
Posts: 4571
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:31 pm
Location: Portugal

Wed Oct 30, 2013 1:23 am

I also miss the clock... :)
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

User avatar
Ace
Posts: 3498
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:33 pm
Location: Croatia

Wed Oct 30, 2013 6:56 am

What's the fuss about the clock? :bonk:
I could understand you miss the wooden frames, or ledger book, but the clock - it always cluttered screen for me.

gekkoguy82
Major
Posts: 205
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 4:58 pm
Location: Nashville, TN

Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:19 pm

Ace wrote:What's the fuss about the clock? :bonk:
I could understand you miss the wooden frames, or ledger book, but the clock - it always cluttered screen for me.


I dunno, I never thought the clock was all that intrusive. Unless you're playing on a smartphone. Otherwise it's really not that big at all. And when grouped with the menu buttons, I think it blends in. But this, of course, is only my opinion. :cool:

User avatar
Ace
Posts: 3498
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 4:33 pm
Location: Croatia

Wed Oct 30, 2013 2:39 pm

I had nothing against the clock. I just do not miss it.

User avatar
Templer
General
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:33 pm
Contact: Website

Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:08 pm

I see the clock as very nice, lovable AGEOD status symbol gimmick.

I vote for: "Clock in CW II"! :thumbsup:
Greetings

Templer

Art99
Private
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:19 pm

Fri Nov 01, 2013 3:52 am

There is no clock in my version of ACW anywhere and never has been. I just triple checked - no clock !

Return to “Civil War II”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests