JWW
Sergeant

Stars Fell on Alabama - An America AAR

Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:29 am

Hi. This is my first full AAR. I will probably bungle it badly. I'm a relative beginner to PON, though I have played it some and have played other AGEOD games much more, including full games of Civil War II. I'm from Louisiana in the USA, born here, live here now, GEAUX LSU TIGERS and all that. I had a long military career though including five years spent in Germany in the 70s and 80s, two tours with the US 8th Infantry Division. For the last 24 years I have been a high school English teacher. So you will see both the Army officer and English teacher come out in my writing as I continue.

Why PON and why an AAR? To quote what I told Loki in a recent discussion about the status of the game in another thread: "I became interested in an America campaign after reading here about the updates and changes to the game and after recently reading Empire of the Summer Moon: Quanah Parker and the Rise and Fall of the Comanches, the Most Powerful Indian Tribe in American History, by S. C. Gwynne, which describes the long but ultimately futile resistance by the Comanches to United States (and Mexican) encroachment on their lands. Of course I note in the game that Comanche land is generically described as Cherokee land, as the game uses a few Native American tribal names to substitute for the many historical tribal groups. But I am interested, among other things, in how America in the game deals with the Native Americans." I should add that I have a lot more than Native Americans to focus on in the game. But that will be a special interest to me.