User avatar
Laruku
General of the Army
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:46 pm

PON-PAN: Playing Any Nation

Wed Sep 21, 2011 8:10 pm

Bored to death playing the same 10 nations? The game can hold up to 18 nations at the start. Only requirement: They must be Major Organized, Minor Organized or Disorganized to be playable.

Some pics:

Image

Apart from the 10 Majors, you can add up to 18 (8 more nations). Here China, Spain, Netherlands, Portugal, Denmark, Sweden, Brazil and Persia.

Image

Why not Persia?

Image

The Danish "Empire"

Image

Yes, those pesky Danes have colonies too!

How to do it?

Well, basically we'll need these files:


VGN/Scripts/Script1850GRC.ini
VGN/Scens/1850 GC.scn

1. Of course, first of all we'll back up each of them. Just in case.
2. Then we open the Scripts file
3. Now have a look to the contents of file "Script1850GRC.ini". Each faction/nation starts with a "$". For example, the first one you find is "CreateFaction = $GBR"
4. The order of appearance of each nation in this file is very important.
For example: GBR is the first to appear, so its number is 1. Then France is the second to appear, so its number is 2. China is the tenth. And so on.
5. Now add that number to 1000000 (one million) to get a [B]new tag number [/B] for the faction.
For example: GBR will be 1000000+1=1000001, and China will be 1000010
6. Now open the scenario file "1850 GC.scn" with a text editor.
7. We'll make China playable, for example. So will look for this number: 1000010
8. Perhaps the first number you meet it's not the tag. The tag number should be just beneath " {Faction}". Keep on searching until you find it.
9. The scenario tag number for 1850 is 2401. So will look under our faction until we find it out. It's just a few lines below.
10. Then we change the number 1 to 0

{Faction}
1000010
0
49
0
0
0
-49440
-6140
0
0
300
1
0
0
0
2401
0
1<-- change to 0
0
0
0
135

11. Now you can repeat with other countries until you have 18 in total. So you can add 8 more to the 1850 GC. Or if you start from scratch, it would be possible to have A NEW 1850GC with 18 totally new countries, ALL PLAYABLE, as I'll show you later. :)

12. Here is a list for the first 116 countries (factions) (there are 226 in total):

Country Tag Country Order of Appearance Tag Number
GBR Great Britain 1 1000001
FRA France 2 1000002
GER Prussia/Germany 3 1000003
AUS Austria 4 1000004
USA USA 5 1000005
RUS Russia 6 1000006
JAP Japan 7 1000007
ITA Sardinia-Piamonte/Italy 8 1000008
TUR Ottoman Empire 9 1000009
CHI China 10 1000010
NON No country 11 1000011
BAD Baden 12 1000012
BAY Bayern 13 1000013
BEL Belgium 14 1000014
DAN Denmark 15 1000015
GRE Greece 16 1000016
HAN Hanover 17 1000017
HED Hesse-Darmstadt 18 1000018
HEK Hessen-Kassel 19 1000019
HOL The Netherlands 20 1000020
HLS Holstein 21 1000021
RUM Moldavia/Rumania 22 1000022
MON Montenegro 23 1000023
PAP Papal States 24 1000024
PAR Parma 25 1000025
POR Portugal 26 1000026
SAX Saxony 27 1000027
SER Serbia 28 1000028
SPA Spain 29 1000029
SWE Sweden 30 1000030
SWI Switzerland 31 1000031
TOS Toscana 32 1000032
SIC Two Sicilies 33 1000033
WAL Wallachia 34 1000034
WUR Württemberg 35 1000035
COS Costa Rica 36 1000036
DOM Dominican Republic 37 1000037
ELS El Salvador 38 1000038
GUA Guatemala 39 1000039
HAI Haiti 40 1000040
HON Honduras 41 1000041
NIC Nicaragua 42 1000042
ARG Argentina 43 1000043
BOL Bolivia 44 1000044
BRZ Brazil 45 1000045
CHL Chile 46 1000046
CLM Colombia 47 1000047
ECU Ecuador 48 1000048
PRG Paraguay 49 1000049
PEU Peru 50 1000050
URU Uruguay 51 1000051
VNZ Venezuela 52 1000052
APA Apache 53 1000053
CHE Cheyenne 54 1000054
CRE Creole? 55 1000055
MEX Mexico 56 1000056
NZP 57 1000057
SIX Sioux 58 1000058
AFG Afganistan 59 1000059
BUK Bokhara 60 1000060
KHI Khiva 61 1000061
KOK Kokand 62 1000062
BER Rajkot? 63 1000063
BHU Bhutan 64 1000064
BIK Bikaner 65 1000065
GWA Gwalior 66 1000066
HYD Hyderabad 67 1000067
KAL Kalat 68 1000068
KAS Kashmir 69 1000069
NAG Nagpur 70 1000070
NEP Nepal 71 1000071
RAJ Rajasthan 72 1000072
TIB Tibet 73 1000073
TRA Travancore 74 1000074
ANN Annam 75 1000075
ATJ Aceh 76 1000076
BJM Banjarmasin 77 1000077
BRU Brunei 78 1000078
BUG Makassar 79 1000079
BUR Burma 80 1000080
CAM Cambodia 81 1000081
JOH Johore 82 1000082
LUA Laos 83 1000083
KOR Korea 84 1000084
PON Pontianak 85 1000085
RYU Ryukyu 86 1000086
SIK Siak 87 1000087
SIA Siam 88 1000088
SRW Sarawak 89 1000089
SUL Tarakan 90 1000090
TON Tonkin 91 1000091
ABU Abu 92 1000092
HAL Hail 93 1000093
HEJ Hejaz 94 1000094
NEJ Riyadh 95 1000095
OMA Oman 96 1000096
PER Persia 97 1000097
ADE Aden 98 1000098
ABY Abyssinia 99 1000099
EGY Egypt 100 1000100
LIB Liberia 101 1000101
MOR Morocco 102 1000102
OFS Orange 103 1000103
TRV Transvaal 104 1000104
TUN Tunisia 105 1000105
TRI Tripolitania 106 1000106
ZAN Zanzibar 107 1000107
ASA Ashanti 108 1000108
BAG Maroua 109 1000109
BAU Bouake 110 1000110
BMB Bemba 111 1000111
BEN Benin 112 1000112
BOB Impfondo 113 1000113
BUA Kisumu 114 1000114
DAH Dahomey 115 1000115


More information available here:

http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/showthread.php?561199-PON-PAN-Playing-Any-Nation

User avatar
Kensai
Posts: 2702
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 4:54 pm
Location: Freiburg, Germany

Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:07 am

Totally cool, thank you! :thumbsup:

However, can you please confirm if those minor countries are effectively playable? There have been reports, for example, that when one guy tried Mexico he couldn't move his armies beyond the region they were based. Perhaps this is a coded behavior to avoid seeing minor nations start attacking all neighbors and colonizing the world in a non historical way.

Don't know if this was a bug that was later fixed... :bonk:

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25477
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:53 pm

No there is no such limitation, I don't know what happened for the Mexican player, probably a lack of DOW etc.

The method the OP speaks about work, but you can also use the console, it is quite handy too and don't involve fiddling with files.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Laruku
General of the Army
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:46 pm

Thu Sep 22, 2011 3:48 pm

Why all this fuss? It is easier playing any country with "SwitchFaction" or "ChangeFaction" on the console. Yes, it could be. But you can't do that in a multiplayer, for example. So if you want to play an unification of Italy, or Germany, scenario with several players, you must make this mod. No other choice. If you play alone, don't worry and use the simple way.

But I like the feeling of having 18 countries, and the countries that I chose, from the start. It's quite refreshing. :)

User avatar
Laruku
General of the Army
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:46 pm

Thu Sep 22, 2011 3:50 pm

Kensai wrote:Totally cool, thank you! :thumbsup:

However, can you please confirm if those minor countries are effectively playable? There have been reports, for example, that when one guy tried Mexico he couldn't move his armies beyond the region they were based. Perhaps this is a coded behavior to avoid seeing minor nations start attacking all neighbors and colonizing the world in a non historical way.

Don't know if this was a bug that was later fixed... :bonk:


They are playable for the AI, so no problem playing as a human. The tribal countries are not playable, as far as I know, or their options are so limited and boring that you can't play them.

User avatar
Sir Garnet
Posts: 935
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:23 pm

Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:36 pm

Pocus wrote:No there is no such limitation, I don't know what happened for the Mexican player, probably a lack of DOW etc.


SwitchFaction makes you miss the first turn, which is some difference.

I started a fresh game and switched to Mexico. The units can be unstacked and restacked within their region but can't be moved out of it-you can drag the icon elsewhere, but it just springs back with an error message - basically rubber-banded in place.

The main weakness of Mexico is key resources lack a collection point which must develop by growth or be built, and it is also at the mercy of the world market for a decent supply of Mfg Goods. It also has no colonial game, no fleet, and no military mischief except Central America (if the troops could move).

User avatar
Laruku
General of the Army
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:46 pm

Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:59 pm

Sir Garnet, I have just checked Mexico using my "mod" and you're right. The units are not able to be moved from the region where they are. I made a new unit and it was the same. I started as Persia, and the units didn't move either. The rest of European countries and China behave normally. I have to figured out the reason, probably a number under those factions in the 1850GC.scn avoiding the movement of units for Disorganized and Tribal countries (except China)

User avatar
Sir Garnet
Posts: 935
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:23 pm

Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:06 pm

It may be for their own protection, so they don't do something crazy like attack the US or Russia.

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25477
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:25 am

Fixed! Sorry, I had to get a report from Generalisimo to understand why... this was a bug.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Laruku
General of the Army
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:46 pm

Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:43 am

Thank you, Pocus!

Jamitar
Captain
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 11:30 am

Fri Sep 23, 2011 6:22 pm

am I the only on who hasnt reached year 1920 with a singl nation? how can you guys play so many diferent factions? unless you just make a rush for prestige?my turns still last 3-4 minutes on "n"

dafredette
Conscript
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:49 pm

Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:57 pm

If you go into VGN/GameData/Factions folder and edit the appropriate file like 129-MEX.fac for Mexico you can move the troops. Change the line IsMajor = 0 to IsMajor = 1.

Most Latin American countries you have to do this for.

User avatar
Laruku
General of the Army
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:46 pm

Thu Oct 06, 2011 2:31 pm

Thank you for your good finding. I'll check that later.

dafredette
Conscript
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:49 pm

Fri Oct 07, 2011 1:33 am

Good luck

dafredette
Conscript
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:49 pm

Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:47 pm

I am going to expound on this topic a little more trying to pass on some of what I have learned editing the game files to make Korea a playable nation. The below examples are for Korea, but will work for any nation. Most will be easier then Korea as she was a Tribal nation to start. Though I am repeating a lot of what Laruku said above, I need to show how different parts in the different files are connected.

As mentioned above there are few files one needs to keep track of when making nations playable, and/or editing existing nations. They are:

VGN/Scripts/Script.ini
VGN/Scripts/Script1850GRC.ini
VGN/Scens/1850 GC.scn
VGN/GameData/Factions/xx-[Country Name].fac <- Only needed if the nation was an unstable, tribal, or considered very minor during the time period.

In the Scripts.ini and Script1850GRC.ini file you will see:

CreateFaction = $KOR

SelectFaction = $KOR
SetCapital = $Seoul;10
SetMoraleLevels = 10;150 <- I will change this to 70;130 to match Japan this will be important later on.
ChangeFacMorale = 100
SetTRSAssetsInfos = $uni_CMN_Sup_Rail;$uni_CMN_Sup_Riv;$uni_CMN_Sup_Sup1;$uni_CMN_Sup_Mch
SetFacUnselect = 1 <- Delete this line
SetFacStyle = 0 <-Delete this line
AddRulerToFac = $ruler_KOR_Cheoljong;0

NOTE: As Laruku said above you need to know what number a nation you are changing is counting down from Great Britain as number 1. Korea is 84, which I show you later where that fits in.

After editing the Scripts.ini and Script1850GRC.ini file you may (Though not always) need to also edit the faction file. This occurs when you are making an Unstable, Tribal, or otherwise very minor nation playable (basically if you make the nation playable but cannot move their troops this is why). Examples: Persia, Mexico, Korea, Columbia, etc... In the /VGN/GameData/Factions folder you will see all of the nations listed alphabetically, with each file also having a number (this number is important so you need to remember it). In the case of Korea the file is: 110-KOR.fac. The top of the file is where you make the change:

UID = 110
FactionTag = KOR
CoopTag = KOR|TCH
NativeTag = KOR|TCH
IsMajor = 0 <- Change this to a 1
Kind = $fkTribalNation <- Changed this to $fkOrganizedMinor to make minor nation. $fkUnstable would make it unstable nation like Ottomans or China.
DisplayTag = KOR
Color = $colKORMain

Next post I will go over the 1850 GC.scn file.

dafredette
Conscript
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:49 pm

Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:39 pm

This is part 1 of the 1850 GC.scn post. I need to break this up and truncate this to get across everything. So below will by our trusty Korean nation. as Laruku said above you take the number the nation is counted down from Great Britian and add 1000000. So, Korea is 1000084.

{Faction}
1000084
0
110 <- This is the same number as found in the faction folder. It is here by default.
0
0
0
0 <- This number is how far to the right from 0,0 to center the view when you start the game I choose -49780
0 <- This number is how far down from 0,0 to center the view when you start the game I choose -4760
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
2401
0
1 <- As above change this to a 0
0
0
0
150 <- This is the upper Morale that I mentioned before I changed this to 130
10 <- This is the lower Morale that I mentioned before I changed this to 70
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0 <- I changed this to 1 as all the other Major nations have it as this.
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
Description to Enter
NULL <- I added the str1850ScenarioVC_TUR here as this is a nice generic Victory message can leave blank.
NULL <- This is your starting relations with other nations It will be in the format: KOR|0|0|0|0|0|0...
NULL (Basically, faction abbreviation followed by a |#| for each nation. The # is your relationship
NULL ( value do not know the order, so to date I have left it NULL, or copied a line from Austria and
NULL changed all to |0|)
NULL <- 1166|20|1164|15|1169|10|1195|15|1196|15|1197|5|1198|5|1199|10|1200|15|
NULL (Three NULLS from down from the relations line or 5 down from "Description to Enter" are
NULL (where your Victory objective provinces go. Province numbers can be found in the
NULL (VGN/GameData/Regions folder. The combination works as a pair: 1166|20 means
NULL (Province 1166 (which is Seoul) is worth 20 points.)
NULL
NULL
NULL
NULL
NULL
NULL
NULL 4531|1|4532|1|4535|1|4536|1|4544|1|4545|1|4546|1|4549|2|4550|2|4553|1|4554|1|4564|5|4565|5|4568|5|4569|5|4572|2|4573|2|4558|4|4581|2|4582|5|4583|3|4585|1|4587|1|5518|2|
NULL
NULL
NULL
3|2|4|1
NULL
1166|10| <- This line is important it is a multiplier. So, it is multiplying the victory points of province
NULL (1166 by 10, so Seoul is now worth 200 points and not 20 points. You can edit the
NULL (second number to change the multiplier. I usually leave it as 10 and change the original
NULL (victory point number above. Most majors capitals are 200-300 points though.)
NULL

dafredette
Conscript
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:49 pm

Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:40 pm

This is part 2 of the 1850 GC.scn file. a bunch of lines below the multiplier last mentioned above you will see something like 10|100|0|300|1|300|. (NOTE: The lines maybe NULLS, like this: 1|107|942|50|Gar1|Gar2, or like this: 3|5|453|1000004|3|0|9999|PH1|PH2|PH3&. As of yet I am unsure with what each means, but you can edit a nation without touching them so I ignored them.)

The line here is our the Stockpile, Money, and other traits you see on the main interface or hitting the "B" key. Each works in a pair.
10|100|9|60|7|300|0|400|1|250|6|0|15|5|11|300|16|25|2|30|3|30|4|50|5|25|20|50|21|50|22|10|23|25|24|25|25|25|27|25|30|25|36|25|43|50|

Here is a quick overview (i.e. what I remember off-hand) of what some of the pairs say: 10 is National Will so it is a 100. 7 is prestige so it is 300. 0 is Money so it is 400, 1 is private capitol which is 250 here, 15 are diplomats which there are 5, 11 is conscripts so there are 300, 16 are officers so there are 25, 2 is steel, 3 is coal, 4 is supply, 5 is ammo, 20 is Iron, 21 is Minerals, 22 is Nitrates, 23 is Cereal, 24 is Rice, 25 is Cows or Fish with 27 being the other one (I think), 30 I believe is processed food, 36 I think is wood, and 43 at the end is manufacturing goods so there are 50 of those.

Next is a binary line, that I do not know what is for. So I leave it.
01111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111...

After the binary line are two interconnected lines. They are Inventions and Technology. The easiest why to edit these lines are to just copy them from another nation. Like in Korea's case I copied the two lines from the Ottomans. If you want to dig deep into the inventions at the bottom of the 1850 GC.scn file are each of the inventions and which technologies they apply to.

0|15|1|999|2|15|3|9999|4|15|5|999|6|999|7|1|8|999|9|50|14|999|12|999|...
278|0|Light Armaments|100|-1|-1|0|PH1|PH2|PH3|PH4&294|0|Heavy Armaments|100|-1|-1|0|PH1|PH2|PH3|PH4&295|1|Bronze Muzzle Loaded Artillery|100|-1|-1|0|PH1|PH2|PH3|PH4&0|1|....

#Aifg#0&NULL&NULL&NULL&#Aifg#NULL#Aifg#NULL#Aifg#50|50#Aifg#NULL#Aifg#|1|10|6|10|300|100|300|5|3|75|2|4|5|8|150|10|25|2|5|5|2|125|66|50|6|11|16|16|...

The next area you might want to change is 2 lines below the technology line, which is the Nations attributes (F1 key screen) like Technology, Trade, Government, Society, etc... It should look like this:
2|1|2|1|3|2|2|0|1|0|1|1|PH1

The format is it goes down then over to the next row. The numbers are 0-3 with 0 being the far left attribute, example:

First four numbers are: Technology, Trade, Government, and Society. So, the four numbers equals Backward Technology, Protectionist Trade, Absolute Government, and Elitist Society.

The next four numbers are: Religion, Economy, Army, Projection. Which if I remember right those numbers means Theocracy, State Economy, Feudal Army, and Regional Projection. The last four are Education, Nationalism, Bureaucracy, State Organization. So, the numbers on Korea mean: Restricted Education, Elite Nationalism, Crony Bureaucracy, and Minor Developed State. The last number is very important. If you are a Tribal nation then you have to be a 3, if you are an unstable nation you have to be a 2, and if you are a minor nation you are a 1. You have stability issues otherwise. What you are depends upon what is in your faction file, in my example above I made Korea a minor nation by changing it to $fkOrganizedMinor.

NULL&NULL&NULL&NULL&
NULL
NULL
[RISingle]1634|0|Cheoljong|2|2|2|0[RISingle][RIAttrib][RIAttrib]& <-This is your nations ruler and/or add in a Prime Minister if you created one)
where you could change
NULL

The last thing I edited was I added the below.
NULL
NULL <- Changed to 0| it is 6 NULLs up from the {Region} it only appears to be in tribal nations, so usually it is already there.)
NULL
NULL
NULL
NULL
NULL
NULL
{Region}

tagwyn
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1220
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:09 pm

Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:16 pm

A BUG!!! FROM AGEOD? NO WAY!!! SEND ME RUS AND I WILL PAY YOU!!! tag

dafredette
Conscript
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:49 pm

Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:17 pm

This is part 3 of the 1850 GC.scn file I will talk about adding buildings and editing regions. Now since Korea in the default game starts as part of China. I had to move her cities underneath Korea, and change the ownership in the {GlobalRegions} attribute near the bottom of the 1850GC.scn file. I will use Seoul as an example since I made extensive changes to her.

Here is my modified Seoul, where I will explain each of the sections as I understand them:
NOTE: This is like XML, so you have to open and close attributes.

{Region} <-Region group open
1166 <-Province number
100
103 <-Province Development
0
100 <-Province Loyalty
101 <- Province Control
6
0
0
0
0
PH1
PH2
PH3
{StrucList} <- Open Structure list
1166 <-Province number
{Structure} <-open 1st Structure
1000791 <- Unique number I coped this entry from China, so it is already good
19 <-building type in this case 19 is city
6 <-Level of city or building in this case 6
0
1000084 <-Ownership
0
1
1
0
110 <- Faction number again
0
0
Seoul <-Text name you can name this whatever you want

{/Structure} <-close 1st Structure
{Structure} <-open 2nd Structure
1013019 <-Unique number since I made this entry up I had to find where the old numbers stopped numbers from 101300 on seem to work.
9 <- building type in this case Pre-Industrial Fortress
1 <-size again
0
1000084 <-ownership
0
1
1
0
110 <-Faction number again
0
0
Gyeongbok <- Text name. Yes I know Gyeongbok is a palace not a fortress, and that it was not rebuilt until 1867.

Here are some more examples:

{/Structure}
{Structure}
1013020
17 <- Depot building type
3
0
1000084
0
1
1
0
110
0
0
Seoul Depot

{/Structure}
{Structure}
1013022
82 <- Coal mine
1
0
1000084
0
1
1
0
110
0
0
Seoul Coal

{/Structure}
{Structure}
1013023
32 <-Rice Fields
1
0
1000084
0
1
1
0
110
0
0
Seoul Rice <-Duplicate names do not matter

{/Structure}
{Structure}
1013024
32
1
0
1000084
0
1
1
0
110
0
0
Seoul Rice <-Duplicate names do not matter

{/Structure}
{/StrucList} <-Close Structure list
{/Region} <-Close Region

Lastly, lets jump to near the bottom of the file to the GlobalRegions section. It should look like the below. If you get something like 1166Seoul = 3 you went too far and are in the weather section. I recommend you do not makes changes in the weather pattern section.

{GlobalRegionData} <-Open Global data attibute
1166 <- Province Id
0
0
-1
1 <- Appears to function as denoting a regions capitol, but I am not 100% on this.
0
2
17
2
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
8
100 <- This is the Development level shown when you mouse over a province. Important in determining what one can build.
Seoul <- Province name. I have not messed with this so it might be editable
2200
0
66
0
110 <- Faction Id again this is important to show ownership. I mentioned Korea is by default part of China in this game so I had to change this from a 49 (China's id) to 110 for Korea.
330
1430
264
50
3|100|
69|100|
23|1|24|5|36|1|
50
23|1|24|5|36|1|
0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0|0
NULL
1000084 <-As above this was originally owned by China 1000010, so I had to change this as well.
PH37
PH38
PH39
PH40
PH41
PH42
PH43
PH44
PH45
{/GlobalRegionData} <-Close GlobalData attribute

dafredette
Conscript
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:49 pm

Tue Oct 11, 2011 9:22 pm

tagwyn wrote:A BUG!!! FROM AGEOD? NO WAY!!! SEND ME RUS AND I WILL PAY YOU!!! tag


Tagwyn,

I hope you are joking, as I am in no way trying to say there is a bug or anything. I am just trying to pass on how to edit the configuration files so people can play nations other than the main 8-10. Also, they can modify those nations in many ways to reflect their wants or needs within the scope of the game engine.

Sorry for any misunderstanding.

User avatar
Laruku
General of the Army
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:46 pm

Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:04 pm

I'm impressed. You might change the relations with other countries editing the file RelationMatrix.inc.
Any pic of Korea kicking some Japanese asses? :D

dafredette
Conscript
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:49 pm

Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:42 am

Austria is my real focus. Korea is just sort of nation I am going to run on the side, and to give a friendly Asian port for Austria. She might even come in handy to attack Russia late game. I wonder if I can make the Boxer Rebellion be put down by a 9-Nation Alliance (instead historical 8, and with a larger Austrian contingent thanks to being allied with friendly forces in Korea).

Taking Japan on will be tough as their are no unique Korean troops (not even a Hwacha), so the game makes me use the same Chinses troops that Japan defeated historically. For expansion I am going to see if I cannot reintegrate the northern lands of the old Korean kingdoms of Gorguryeo and Balhae. Effectively Jilian and Liaoning provinces of China today.

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25477
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Wed Oct 12, 2011 8:52 am

You can edit things by manipulating the outputted files like scn, but this is not the correct way of doing things, if you want to do them right... You must work with scripts, made of commands, that will generate all the numbers you see in the scn. Much better and more compatible with the way it is meant to be done.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7583
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:24 pm

Note that usually a new patch will overwrite the files you are changing, so keep copies somewhere away from the installed folder. :blink:

And, to make your modding easier, please see:
http://www.ageod.net/agewiki/Articles_and_Tutorials_on_Modding

In particular, note that the Script.ini files serve ONLY to compile the new .scn file. They are not used at alll during game play. Only the .scn is read at start of a new game.
:)
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]
[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]
[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
Laruku
General of the Army
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:46 pm

Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:54 pm

Pocus wrote:You can edit things by manipulating the outputted files like scn, but this is not the correct way of doing things, if you want to do them right... You must work with scripts, made of commands, that will generate all the numbers you see in the scn. Much better and more compatible with the way it is meant to be done.


Yes, indeed. But, where are they?

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7583
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:22 pm

Laruku wrote:Yes, indeed. But, where are they?


in the \Scripts folder

Read the first line inside the file to see what Scen will be generated.
Be sure you use the most recent version if multiple versions appear.
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
Laruku
General of the Army
Posts: 619
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:46 pm

Wed Oct 12, 2011 2:51 pm

lodilefty wrote:in the \Scripts folder

Read the first line inside the file to see what Scen will be generated.
Be sure you use the most recent version if multiple versions appear.


So you mean this:

SelectFaction = $GBR
Objectives = $Anglia;30;$Edinburgh;10;$Newcastle;15;$Wales;10;$Midlands;15;$Quebec;5;$Hong Kong;5;$Singapore;3;$Calcutta;5;$Peshawar;3;$Kabul;5

ChangeVPCount = 1000 [color="Red"]<-- So that's prestige[/color]
SetWinLevel = 400
WinParams = StrWin|2|txt_GBR_Win|imgScore_GBR_Victory|$Snd_GBR_AnthemWin
LooseParams = StrLose|2|txt_GBR_Lose|imgScore_GBR_Defeat|$Snd_GBR_AnthemLose
LooseParamsVP = StrLoseVP|2|txt_GBR_LoseVP|imgScore_GBR_Stalemate|$Snd_GBR_AnthemWin
WinParamsVP = StrWinVP|2|txt_GBR_WinVP|imgScore_GBR_Stalemate|$Snd_GBR_AnthemLose
RulSuddenDeath = 1
RulPettyWar = 0
AutoRaiseON = 0


From file Script.ini (same for file Script1850GC.ini)

dafredette
Conscript
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:49 pm

Wed Oct 12, 2011 6:39 pm

Pocus and Lodilefy,

I 2nd Laruku's question as it was quite time consuming to reverse engineer the changes I made to the 1850 GC.scn file. So, if there is an easier and better way I am all for it.

Thanks

User avatar
Sir Garnet
Posts: 935
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:23 pm

Sun Jun 23, 2013 5:30 am

This was the thread people were looking for. I understand it better than I did the first time a long time past.

User avatar
andrzej
Private
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 11:57 am
Location: Russia.Saint Peterburg

Re: PON-PAN: Playing Any Nation

Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:22 pm

I created a small mod that adds up to 36 countries to the country selection screen and a scenario file with 36 countries unlocked -https://mega.nz/#!bigWgYwC!yZq6qoqhVrxIszDMldCd1wwpG0uOida4I7jD6Ylt-l0

Image

If someone explained to me how to add scrolling to the country selection screen, I could add many more countries.

Return to “PON Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest