Ekaton
Private
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:39 pm

Playing as another country

Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:10 am

I am playing a game as Great Britain, but I would like to control China as well, preferably without starting a new game. Is it possible to add another player-controlled country by, for example, copying an existing save file and using switchfaction command? I tried it and ended with the copy not advancing at all but remaining in the same turn.

Show AI nations in the menu doesn't work either.

Ekaton
Private
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:39 pm

Re: Playing as another country

Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:13 pm

Anyone?

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2459
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Re: Playing as another country

Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:25 am

If you are starting a new game and wish to play both nations, I can help. But I have no idea how to add a faction in an ongoing game.

User avatar
loki100
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 2158
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:15 pm
Location: Glasgow
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: Playing as another country

Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:35 am

Ekaton wrote:Anyone?


I'm not sure how to bring an AI nation to be playable. You could try using the ~ function, change faction and run a turn. Make a save for China. Go back to your old save, run the turn as GB with your usual save. That might mean the game is now looking for China saves to progress.

You can also have a look in the turn file. I've just opened this for my current game to see which parts of the country code are different for Russia (which I am playing) compared to others:

I've extracted the basic set up code for some of the majors and highlighted two lines where the code for Russia is clearly different to the others.

So you could try and change those in the turn file for China and see if it is then looking for human generated orders. Obviously make a save of the .trn file before doing anything to it and no guarentees this will work. How to read the code in the trn and hst files is well beyond my knowledge but I've worked out a few things by trial and error:

Image

DavoM
Private
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 5:14 am

Re: Playing as another country

Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:26 am

Similar to what loki100 says. Play your Great Britain turn, then prior to ending use the Switch Faction command to China (CHI). Save and run the turn. The turn will run as Great Britain (Union Jack still in top left corner), but then switch to China during the movement phase. When the new turn loads you can play around with units and the like on screen, but do not use any of the F1 to F11 screens nor change any commodities on the (B)alance and trade screens, as it runs slowly and jerkily for this first turn only. Also, if you cannot see anything on the map (i.e. black screen) then use the RevealTI command. What I do is just do what I have to do with any units, then save and exit.

When you go to the load game screen China will not be an option to choose; don't panic. Load Great Britain, play, save and run the turn as normal. Next turn exit, and go to the load game screen where China should now be listed with Great Britain to play. From then onward each turn you will need to load each nation individually from the load game screen, play and save. You can run subsequent turns as any of your controlled nations, but you will always have to load each faction individually every turn.

I have done this successfully with emergent nations (Taiping, Confederate States of America, & Rumania), and those already at the start of the 1850GC further into the game (Greece). You can give them back to the AI control at anytime by just not playing them for a turn. You will be prompted to tick yes or no to letting a nation be played by the AI if you don't save a turn with them. I did this to the Taiping when China had almost completely defeated them. Currently I control 14 nations in my game, just so the economy runs and no-one is building mega-armies and conquering the globe...... :cuit:

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2459
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Re: Playing as another country

Fri Mar 09, 2018 4:22 am

For those of you who do not know the country codes, this is a very helpful site

viewtopic.php?f=300&t=22738&hilit=factions+list+PON

Ekaton
Private
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:39 pm

Re: Playing as another country

Fri Mar 16, 2018 2:05 pm

Thanks a lot!

Return to “Pride of Nations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests