noob
Civilian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:23 pm

Bef

Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:31 pm

I notice in a 2 player's campaign and army by army mode that the BEF still appears in the province of Mons in Belgium even if the province is controlled by Germany. So the BEF is too easy to isolate and destroy.

patrat
Captain
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:27 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:26 am

ive noticed this too.

but ive also noticed if the germans garrison mons the bef appears eslewhere. so i just make sure to garrison it so this unhistorical situation doesn't occur.

however it would be nice to see this corrected.

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:29 am

The BEF placement is a very though problem, source of neverending discussions. Originally it was meant to be placed close to the sea, but the AI suffered a lot and so we decided to move it closer to the Germans. And now you reported this new problem. To be sincere, I prefer to keep things so rather than having again a distant BEF... :love:

patrat
Captain
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:27 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Mon Oct 05, 2009 4:31 pm

having it placed in mons isn't really a problem.

the problem is its being placed in mons when the germans control mons but haven't garrisoned it.

if im not mistaken, if the germans have units garrisoning mons, the bef automactically goes to the nearest allied hq, or was it friendly city? no matter, as it is everythings fine, unless the germans control but do not garrision mons. thats the only time its placement is a problem.


so in short, is it possiable to make the germans having control of mons being sufficient to make the ai place the bef elsewhere? its already placing it elsewhere if the germans are garrisoning mons.

patrat
Captain
Posts: 161
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:27 pm
Location: Illinois USA

Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:37 pm

slightly off topic.

the battle of mons took place on august 23rd. if memory serves me correctly, the bef doesn't arrive in mons in game till september.

if the germans in game are moving as fast as the real life ones, they'll be past mons by the time the bef is placed there. in real life they'd be closing in on paris by the time the game places the bef in mons during the allied reinforcement phase of semptember.

maybe it would be better all around to have the bef placed in mons in the late august allied reinforcement phase.

my apologies if all this already has been discussed before. i fear i might be beating a dead horse as they say.Image

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:36 am

Ok, I figured the problem...

Look at the EV_ENG.inc file (located in the Data\Dictionary\Events directory)...

ENG_003A (BEF enters in Mons) occurs at the end of Military phase in turn #2 (August 1914), if both Great Britain and Belgium are at war with Germany.
The effect EE_RaiseReinforcements is triggered.
This reinforcement is raised also if Mons is under enemy control! This is the problem.

So I think we can do as follow...

1) Add a condition in event ENG_003A:

;
; Event ENG_003A - BEF enters in Mons
;
BeginEvent

Id=9155
Tag=ENG_003A
TitleEvent=None
Description=None
HistoricalNotes=None
Image=0
Icon=0
Mandatory=Yes
Played=No
Success=No
Undisclosed=Yes
MultipleAction=No
Difficulty=0
Duration=0
DeadlineTurn=2
DeadlineTurnLast=100
Cloned=No
ExecutionPhase=TP_Military

; Conditions
BeginCondition
Type=EC_CheckBelligerantNation
Parameters=ENG,1,PS_CentralPowers
EndCondition
BeginCondition
Type=EC_CheckBelligerantNation
Parameters=BEL,1,PS_CentralPowers
EndCondition
BeginCondition
Type=EC_MapAreaGroupControl
Parameters=1,0,GER,MONS
EndCondition


ConditionsFormula=({1} AND {2} AND {3})

; Effects
BeginEffect
Type=EE_RaiseReinforcements
Parameters=RT_Army,MONS,-1,ENG_A01,ENG
EndEffect

; Option #1
FirstOptionTitle=None
FirstOptionEffectsDesc=None
FirstOptionEffects=1

PlayedOptionIndex=-1
DefaultOptionIndex=1

TargetNations=ENG
OccurrencesMax=1
Occurrences=0

EndEvent


The portions in bold marks the added parts. In simple words, we are telling the game engine to trigger the game if Germans do not control Mons!

2) Now we add a new event:

;
; Event ENG_003C - BEF enters in Le Havre
;
BeginEvent

Id=9157
Tag=ENG_003C
TitleEvent=None
Description=None
HistoricalNotes=None
Image=0
Icon=0
Mandatory=Yes
Played=No
Success=No
Undisclosed=Yes
MultipleAction=No
Difficulty=0
Duration=0
DeadlineTurn=2
DeadlineTurnLast=100
Cloned=No
ExecutionPhase=TP_Military

; Conditions
BeginCondition
Type=EC_CheckBelligerantNation
Parameters=ENG,1,PS_CentralPowers
EndCondition
BeginCondition
Type=EC_CheckBelligerantNation
Parameters=BEL,1,PS_CentralPowers
EndCondition
BeginCondition
Type=EC_MapAreaGroupControl
Parameters=1,1,GER,MONS
EndCondition

ConditionsFormula=({1} AND {2} AND {3})

; Effects
BeginEffect
Type=EE_RaiseReinforcements
Parameters=RT_Army,LE_HAVRE,-1,ENG_A01,ENG
EndEffect

; Option #1
FirstOptionTitle=None
FirstOptionEffectsDesc=None
FirstOptionEffects=1

PlayedOptionIndex=-1
DefaultOptionIndex=1

TargetNations=ENG
OccurrencesMax=1
Occurrences=0

EndEvent


That is to be triggered if Great Britain and Belgium are at war with the Central Powers and Mons is controlled by Germans (see the 1 highlighted in bold).


tagwyn
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1220
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:09 pm

Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:35 am

Luca: Do we download something or try to become programmers? t

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Mon Feb 01, 2010 9:03 am

tagwyn wrote:Luca: Do we download something or try to become programmers? t


No need, gold version will include this change on BEF placement.

vonRocko
Colonel
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:28 pm

Mon Feb 01, 2010 2:04 pm

Another patch item being lumped into the gold "improvements". Poor suckers,like me, who bought the original game, will just have to live with the Bef problem. Smells more like paradox here everyday.

Nerumir
Private
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 2:15 pm

Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:55 pm

I understand your stance but basically editing this file will not be a big issue.

Personaly what I wish is to not have to pay a toooooo expensive extra for Gold Edition, I trust Ageod about this.

I have bought this game about more than 1 year ago and since it's playabe this game is really inovative and interesting but it need a definitive fix/improvement, which will be bring with Gold Edition we all hope.

noob
Civilian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:23 pm

Wed Mar 24, 2010 11:53 pm

personnally I've bought the game and I just want it to run normally.
It's not question to pay for a gold or extra.

Return to “Help improve WW1!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest