Flop
Major

Movement woes

Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:07 pm

I've been playing the demo (1.05i) for a few days now. I've ordered the full game, but I understand that the demo is exactly like the full game, except for the 15 days limit.

Anyway, I'd like a function that lets me know how far I can expect my stacks to move. Having to check the weather and terrain and consult the manual for the MP cost for each region each of my stacks will move through takes a long time, not to mention that I frequently overlook stuff like fortresses (I'm still new at this :) ). So it would be nice if there was a function to let me know how far along the planned route a given stack can be expected to move during its turn. If there's already such a function I apologize for the inconvenience. I've read most of the manual, but I have probably overlooked/forgotten many important points.

Another thing I'd like is a different way of moving stacks. It annoys me greatly that I have to select a stack and then click it again to drag it. Half of the time I miss the stack when I try to drag it after having selected it, thereby selecting the province instead. This is doubly annoying if I have selected an alternative movement mode for the stack, because that is reset when the stack is unselected. This is a minor inconvenience, I admit, but with the number of stacks you have to order around the map during each turn of a game, it adds up.

A solution could be to just dump the drag/drop function and use a left click to select a stack and then a right click to select the region you want it to move to (first selecting an alternative movement mode, if you want to). Another, probably easier, way would be to make selecting the stacks less of a pixel hunt, by making them larger (perhaps not visually, just for the purpose of selecting them). Of course, if I'm the only one with this problem, I'll just go train my hand-eye coordination instead of bothering you with my problems. :D

calvinus

Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:29 pm