User avatar
Seven
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:54 pm

Game Freezes

Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:34 pm

Grand Campaign, 2-player (Vs. AI)

On the 1st military turn the game freezes each time.
Use of 100% CPU, game stops with 'not responding' warning.

There is also a very long processing time in all phases.

Pentium IV 2.8 GHz
2GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce7600
XP Pro
All updated drivers, Direct X, scanned & clean system.

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:48 pm

It means the AI is working. It normally takes 2-3 minutes to finish operations.

If you want to have a less jerky behaviour, launch the WW1 Configurator tool (Start Menu > World War One > Configure Game) and set the "Security Level" to 2.

Doing so, every time the AI works, you will be informed immediately with the black window inside the screen.

During AI job, you are normally not able to do anything. You can anyway pause and un-pause the AI using the 'pause' key.

Thanks,
Calvinus.

User avatar
Rafiki
Posts: 5811
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 9:19 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:03 pm

[color="Blue"]Moved to tech support :) [/color]
[CENTER]Latest patches: AACW :: NCP :: WIA :: ROP :: RUS :: PON :: AJE
Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
[/CENTER]

User avatar
Seven
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:54 pm

Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:15 pm

calvinus wrote:It means the AI is working. It normally takes 2-3 minutes to finish operations.

If you want to have a less jerky behaviour, launch the WW1 Configurator tool (Start Menu > World War One > Configure Game) and set the "Security Level" to 2.

Doing so, every time the AI works, you will be informed immediately with the black window inside the screen.

During AI job, you are normally not able to do anything. You can anyway pause and un-pause the AI using the 'pause' key.

Thanks,
Calvinus.


Thank you Calvinus - one point though- I said that the game freezes, meaning, it stops responding. I leave it 5, 10, 15 minutes, nothing.

I will try your suggestions and report back - thank you,

-Seven

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:31 pm

Seven wrote:Thank you Calvinus - one point though- I said that the game freezes, meaning, it stops responding. I leave it 5, 10, 15 minutes, nothing.

I will try your suggestions and report back - thank you,

-Seven


Try also DISABLING the option "Give AI full-time" (Options window)... ;)

User avatar
Seven
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:54 pm

Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:58 pm

calvinus wrote:Try also DISABLING the option "Give AI full-time" (Options window)... ;)


Hi Calvinus - it is disabled already.

Still having same problems. Tried 1918 Scenario and during AI military phase game freezes.
Included screen shots.

Image

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Mon Nov 10, 2008 4:31 pm

Can you try please a smaller scenario? Serbia, Tannenberg, or the GC 1914?

User avatar
Seven
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:54 pm

Mon Nov 10, 2008 6:15 pm

calvinus wrote:Can you try please a smaller scenario? Serbia, Tannenberg, or the GC 1914?


Ok - I have tried Serbia 3 times.
The game does not freeze but I have far more than the minimum requirements to play this game and the game appears slow and not very responsive.

I have American Civil War and Napoleons campaigns and they both play very well, fast. I have no performance problems with any other games too.

In my experience I strongly think there is a performance issue.

User avatar
Seven
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:54 pm

Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:35 pm

I have now a fatal game crash playing GC 1914.
1st turn diplomatic phase - I didn't even get to the military phase!
I am posting the text dump from Windows error reporting.


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16"?>
<DATABASE>
<EXE NAME="WW1.exe" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_PRIVACY">
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="d3dx9_34.dll" SIZE="3497832" CHECKSUM="0x60EB9E9" BIN_FILE_VERSION="9.19.949.46" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="9.19.949.46" PRODUCT_VERSION="9.19.949.0046" FILE_DESCRIPTION="" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® DirectX for Windows®" FILE_VERSION="9.19.949.0046" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="D3DX9D.dll" INTERNAL_NAME="D3DX9D.dll" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright © Microsoft Corp. 1994-2007" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x10001" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x35EDA5" LINKER_VERSION="0x60000" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="9.19.949.46" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="9.19.949.46" LINK_DATE="05/15/2007 05:13:00" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/15/2007 05:13:00" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="d3dx9_35.dll" SIZE="3727720" CHECKSUM="0xD433132B" BIN_FILE_VERSION="9.19.949.1104" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="9.19.949.1104" PRODUCT_VERSION="9.19.949.1104" FILE_DESCRIPTION="" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® DirectX for Windows®" FILE_VERSION="9.19.949.1104" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="D3DX9D.dll" INTERNAL_NAME="D3DX9D.dll" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright © Microsoft Corp. 1994-2007" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x10001" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x395201" LINKER_VERSION="0x70000" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="9.19.949.1104" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="9.19.949.1104" LINK_DATE="07/19/2007 21:54:38" UPTO_LINK_DATE="07/19/2007 21:54:38" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="DelZip179.dll" SIZE="246608" CHECKSUM="0xAA5DADAA" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.79.7.3" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.79.7.3" PRODUCT_VERSION="1.79.07.03" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Freeware Zip/Unzip" COMPANY_NAME="DelphiZip" PRODUCT_NAME="DelphiZip" FILE_VERSION="1.79.07.03" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="DelZip179.dll" INTERNAL_NAME="DelZip.dll" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright © 2007, Russell Peters" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x4174F" LINKER_VERSION="0x40000" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.79.7.3" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.79.7.3" LINK_DATE="02/16/2007 00:47:40" UPTO_LINK_DATE="02/16/2007 00:47:40" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="paul.dll" SIZE="233472" CHECKSUM="0x2D5A3340" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.2.1" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.2.1" PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.2.1" FILE_DESCRIPTION="SecuROM PA Unlock DLL for Buy & Play" COMPANY_NAME="Sony DADC Austria AG" PRODUCT_NAME="SecuROM Buy & Play" FILE_VERSION="1.0.2.1" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="paul_dll_buy_and_play.dll" INTERNAL_NAME="paul_dll_buy_and_play.dll" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="© 2006 Sony DADC Austria AG. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.2.1" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.2.1" LINK_DATE="11/14/2007 16:28:03" UPTO_LINK_DATE="11/14/2007 16:28:03" VER_LANGUAGE="Language Neutral [0x0]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="unicows.dll" SIZE="258352" CHECKSUM="0xE4D9139E" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.1.3790.0" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.1.3790.0" PRODUCT_VERSION="1.1.3790.0" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Microsoft Layer for Unicode on Win9x Systems (MSLU)" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft (R) Windows (R) 95, Windows (R) 98, and Windows (R) Millennium Operating Systems" FILE_VERSION="1.1.3790.0" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="UnicoWS.dll" INTERNAL_NAME="Godot.dll" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="© Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x4913A" LINKER_VERSION="0x50002" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.1.3790.0" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.1.3790.0" LINK_DATE="12/07/2004 07:24:00" UPTO_LINK_DATE="12/07/2004 07:24:00" VER_LANGUAGE="Language Neutral [0x0]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="unins000.exe" SIZE="691481" CHECKSUM="0x9B3AE545" BIN_FILE_VERSION="51.49.0.0" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="51.49.0.0" PRODUCT_VERSION="0.0.0.0" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Setup/Uninstall" COMPANY_NAME="" PRODUCT_NAME="" FILE_VERSION="51.49.0.0" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="" INTERNAL_NAME="" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="51.49.0.0" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="51.49.0.0" LINK_DATE="06/19/1992 22:22:17" UPTO_LINK_DATE="06/19/1992 22:22:17" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="Updater.exe" SIZE="1858560" CHECKSUM="0xB16A0502" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="10/02/2008 14:56:46" UPTO_LINK_DATE="10/02/2008 14:56:46" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="WW1.exe" SIZE="8699392" CHECKSUM="0x28C97B33" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.3.1" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.3.1" PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.3.1" FILE_DESCRIPTION="World War One" COMPANY_NAME="AgeOD" PRODUCT_NAME="World War One" FILE_VERSION="1.0.3.1" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="WW1.exe" INTERNAL_NAME="WW1.exe" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="(c) 2008 by AGEOD. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x85BD31" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.3.1" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.3.1" LINK_DATE="11/04/2008 18:41:23" UPTO_LINK_DATE="11/04/2008 18:41:23" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="WW1Configurator.exe" SIZE="331776" CHECKSUM="0x528A8ADA" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.0.1" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" FILE_DESCRIPTION="WW1 Configurator" COMPANY_NAME="Luca Cammisa" PRODUCT_NAME="World War One" FILE_VERSION="1.0.0.1" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="WW1Configurator.exe" INTERNAL_NAME="WW1Configurator.exe" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="(c) 2008 by AgeOD. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x531CE" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.0.1" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" LINK_DATE="10/12/2008 14:45:04" UPTO_LINK_DATE="10/12/2008 14:45:04" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="DirectX\directx_9c_redist.exe" SIZE="35113704" CHECKSUM="0x7581D35A" BIN_FILE_VERSION="6.0.2600.0" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="6.0.2600.0" PRODUCT_VERSION="6.00.2600.0000" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Win32 Cabinet Self-Extractor " COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® Windows® Operating System" FILE_VERSION="6.00.2600.0000" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="WEXTRACT.EXE " INTERNAL_NAME="Wextract " LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="© Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x21829EA" LINKER_VERSION="0x50001" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="6.0.2600.0" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="6.0.2600.0" LINK_DATE="08/18/2001 01:42:57" UPTO_LINK_DATE="08/18/2001 01:42:57" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="DirectX\DSETUP.dll" SIZE="97288" CHECKSUM="0xB16B93CD" BIN_FILE_VERSION="4.9.0.904" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="4.9.0.904" PRODUCT_VERSION="4.9.0.0904" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Direct driver preloader" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® DirectX for Windows®" FILE_VERSION="4.9.0.0904" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="dsetup.dll" INTERNAL_NAME="dsetup.dll" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x10001" VERFILETYPE="0x3" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x22F42" LINKER_VERSION="0x60000" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="4.9.0.904" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="4.9.0.904" LINK_DATE="05/30/2008 21:01:19" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/30/2008 21:01:19" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="DirectX\dsetup32.dll" SIZE="1694728" CHECKSUM="0x625B0034" BIN_FILE_VERSION="4.9.0.904" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="4.9.0.904" PRODUCT_VERSION="4.9.0.0904" FILE_DESCRIPTION="DirectX Setup - 32-bit piece" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® DirectX for Windows®" FILE_VERSION="4.9.0.0904" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="dsetup32.dll" INTERNAL_NAME="dsetup32.dll" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x10001" VERFILETYPE="0x3" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x1A514C" LINKER_VERSION="0x60000" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="4.9.0.904" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="4.9.0.904" LINK_DATE="05/30/2008 21:01:19" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/30/2008 21:01:19" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="DirectX\DXSETUP.exe" SIZE="528392" CHECKSUM="0x5F0F4745" BIN_FILE_VERSION="4.9.0.904" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="4.9.0.904" PRODUCT_VERSION="4.9.0.0904" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Microsoft DirectX Setup" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® DirectX for Windows®" FILE_VERSION="4.9.0.0904" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="dxsetup.exe" INTERNAL_NAME="dxsetup.exe" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x10001" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x885D8" LINKER_VERSION="0x60000" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="4.9.0.904" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="4.9.0.904" LINK_DATE="05/30/2008 21:01:21" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/30/2008 21:01:21" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="DivX\DivXCodec.exe" SIZE="3436280" CHECKSUM="0xA573F179" BIN_FILE_VERSION="6.8.4.7" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="6.8.4.7" FILE_DESCRIPTION="DivX Community Codec Installer, L:EN;ES;DE;FR;JA, DivX Codec 6.8.4" COMPANY_NAME="DivX, Inc." FILE_VERSION="6.8.4.7" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="bundle-communitycodec.exe" INTERNAL_NAME="bundle-communitycodec" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright (c) DivX, Inc. 2008" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x34AB39" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="6.8.4.7" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="6.8.4.7" LINK_DATE="03/31/2007 15:09:51" UPTO_LINK_DATE="03/31/2007 15:09:51" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
</EXE>
<EXE NAME="kernel32.dll" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_THISFILEONLY">
<MATCHING_FILE NAME="kernel32.dll" SIZE="989696" CHECKSUM="0x7D737C09" BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Windows NT BASE API Client DLL" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® Windows® Operating System" FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="kernel32" INTERNAL_NAME="kernel32" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="© Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0xF44A2" LINKER_VERSION="0x50001" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.5512" LINK_DATE="04/14/2008 00:11:24" UPTO_LINK_DATE="04/14/2008 00:11:24" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
</EXE>
</DATABASE>

User avatar
Seven
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:54 pm

Mon Nov 10, 2008 9:21 pm

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application Error
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Date: 10/11/2008
Time: 12:31:49
User: N/A
Computer: XXX-XXXXXXXXXXX
Description:
Faulting application ww1.exe, version 1.0.3.1, faulting module ww1.exe, version 1.0.3.1, fault address 0x003e9c66.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 6c707041 74616369 206e6f69 6c696146
0010: 20657275 31777720 6578652e 302e3120
0020: 312e332e 206e6920 2e317777 20657865
0030: 2e302e31 20312e33 6f207461 65736666
0040: 30302074 63396533 0a0d3636



--------------------------------------------------


Event Type: Error
Event Source: Application Error
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Date: 10/11/2008
Time: 18:28:24
User: N/A
Computer: XXX-XXXXXXXXXXX
Description:
Faulting application ww1.exe, version 1.0.3.1, faulting module ww1.exe, version 1.0.3.1, fault address 0x002f2d48.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Data:
0000: 6c707041 74616369 206e6f69 6c696146
0010: 20657275 31777720 6578652e 302e3120
0020: 312e332e 206e6920 2e317777 20657865
0030: 2e302e31 20312e33 6f207461 65736666
0040: 30302074 64326632 0a0d3834

pkpowers
Corporal
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 5:59 am

Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:07 am

AI turn taking more than 10 minutes then I cntl-alt-delete out of game

(system)---Using 1.8 ghz processor, 2 gb ram

(SETUP)---AI not using extra time, security set to "2" , have tried tannenberg and serbia scns, same result, 100% cpu usage...also tried with low end color map and load map fully first...same results , AI turn taking too long.

I'm sure you guys can help us out, I have faith in ageod, loved all the other games and they play great on my pc.

thanks

User avatar
Tamas
Posts: 1438
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:51 am

Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:53 am

pkpowers wrote:AI turn taking more than 10 minutes then I cntl-alt-delete out of game

(system)---Using 1.8 ghz processor, 2 gb ram

(SETUP)---AI not using extra time, security set to "2" , have tried tannenberg and serbia scns, same result, 100% cpu usage...also tried with low end color map and load map fully first...same results , AI turn taking too long.

I'm sure you guys can help us out, I have faith in ageod, loved all the other games and they play great on my pc.

thanks



Is this the very first turn of your games? I am sure Calvinus is looking into this issue, but if you would like to, I will PM you my e-mail address. Please start a short scenario, issue the orders you normally do, then instead of hitting end turn, save it, zip the .map and .sav files and send it to me. I will load up and see if I can proceed, so we can determine if its hardware related or not, because this is not happening to me.

User avatar
eleven_west
Corporal
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: London, UK

So bloody slow

Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 am

My computer is not shy of resources either, and I also experienced a seemingly never-ending first turn. The AI is thinking alright, it's just thinking too much to the point that I can't believe it's supposed to slow performance THAT much. Even scrolling through the map is a challenge at the moment. It's just a map and icons game. As a point of reference I play Company of Heroes in reasonably high settings and my old sturdy HP Compaq nx8220 pulls through admirably so if there's an issue it ain't graphics. I'll just wait and see what other feedback comes in

User avatar
Tamas
Posts: 1438
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:51 am

Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:31 am

eleven_west wrote:My computer is not shy of resources either, and I also experienced a seemingly never-ending first turn. The AI is thinking alright, it's just thinking too much to the point that I can't believe it's supposed to slow performance THAT much. Even scrolling through the map is a challenge at the moment. It's just a map and icons game. As a point of reference I play Company of Heroes in reasonably high settings and my old sturdy HP Compaq nx8220 pulls through admirably so if there's an issue it ain't graphics. I'll just wait and see what other feedback comes in


If the "AI is working" message dissapears from the screen, yet the CPU load seem to remain, you can try pausing the game. If everything is normal, it will hog the system for a couple of more seconds, then you can go ahead and issue orders.

pkpowers
Corporal
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 5:59 am

Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:01 am

The AI starts it's turn, the military AI busy box appears for 5 minutes or so, then it flickers with a "game is busy" notice box appearing and disappearing every few seconds until I shut it down

razorbackjac
Captain
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 3:02 am
Location: arkansas

same problem

Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:02 am

eleven_west wrote:My computer is not shy of resources either, and I also experienced a seemingly never-ending first turn. The AI is thinking alright, it's just thinking too much to the point that I can't believe it's supposed to slow performance THAT much. Even scrolling through the map is a challenge at the moment. It's just a map and icons game. As a point of reference I play Company of Heroes in reasonably high settings and my old sturdy HP Compaq nx8220 pulls through admirably so if there's an issue it ain't graphics. I'll just wait and see what other feedback comes in


I've basicly had the same problem. Gave up after 3.5 hrs. :confused:

Johnnie
Captain
Posts: 187
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:09 am

Tue Nov 11, 2008 4:20 am

Just tried the Grand Campaign 1914 first turn on default settings (security =3) I think. Waited at most under 3 minutes for any one phase. On the Palestine scenario, I have almost no waiting time.

I don't minimize the problems you guys are having; but they apparently depend on the system.

dinsdale
Sergeant
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:45 am

Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:14 am

Game crashed for me during the diplomatic phase.

User avatar
sval06
Captain
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:46 pm

Tue Nov 11, 2008 7:51 am

Johnnie wrote:Just tried the Grand Campaign 1914 first turn on default settings (security =3) I think. Waited at most under 3 minutes for any one phase. On the Palestine scenario, I have almost no waiting time.

I don't minimize the problems you guys are having; but they apparently depend on the system.


I did the entire first turn of 1914 campaign with no problems, but the system crashed on 1918 scenario ;) :(

System has an impact, but it does not seem to be the main reason

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:23 am

Well guys, I'm working on a AI improvement for low spec PCs, that would reduce considerably the AI working time...

User avatar
Seven
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:54 pm

Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:03 am

pkpowers wrote:The AI starts it's turn, the military AI busy box appears for 5 minutes or so, then it flickers with a "game is busy" notice box appearing and disappearing every few seconds until I shut it down


Yes - I confirm this also.

calvinus wrote:Well guys, I'm working on a AI improvement for low spec PCs, that would reduce considerably the AI working time...


But I don't have a low-spec PC - my specs are way above the minimum required and what about the crashes ?

I play very CPU and graphics intensive games with no problems or crashes so PC spec is not the issue I'm sure of it.

I think it may be worthwhile looking into what is different between the version people beta tested and the version we have. Copy protection?

User avatar
Seven
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:54 pm

Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:04 am

calvinus wrote:Well guys, I'm working on a AI improvement for low spec PCs, that would reduce considerably the AI working time...


But I don't have a low-spec PC and what about the crashes ?

I play very CPU and graphics intensive games with no problems or crashes so PC spec is not the issue I'm sure of it.

I think it may be worthwhile looking into what is different between the version people beta tested and the version we have. Copy protection?

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13704
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:35 am

Try to see if you have some antivirus or firewall active, and de-activate them while retrying to play. It used to be a known problem :confused:
Image

User avatar
calvinus
Posts: 4679
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: Italy
Contact: Website

Tue Nov 11, 2008 10:40 am

Working on CTD issue too. I hope to have a new patch asap, that will fix a lot of issues.

oldraven
Civilian
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 7:03 pm

Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:01 am

calvinus wrote:Well guys, I'm working on a AI improvement for low spec PCs, that would reduce considerably the AI working time...


Could you tell us, please, the specification of the test machine configuration? I'd like to know the hardware where this game is running against an AI smoothly and without crashes :)

Thank You.

User avatar
Seven
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:54 pm

Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:25 am

PhilThib wrote:Try to see if you have some antivirus or firewall active, and de-activate them while retrying to play. It used to be a known problem :confused:


Thank you Phillipe;
Are you saying I should turn off my internet connection first?

I did deactivate antivirus and I played offline, but the problem was still there.

I will deactivate the firewall and play offline - I will report back.

User avatar
Hasardeur
Sergeant
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:45 am

Tue Nov 11, 2008 11:41 am

PhilThib wrote:Try to see if you have some antivirus or firewall active, and de-activate them while retrying to play. It used to be a known problem :confused:


I also have CTD problems very often. I hope that deactivating firewall and anti virus software should not be the final solution for this CTD problems.

I hope you find a way to let run WWI stable with all this software activated.

Greets

User avatar
Tamas
Posts: 1438
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2005 10:51 am

Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:04 pm

Seven wrote:Thank you Phillipe;
Are you saying I should turn off my internet connection first?

I did deactivate antivirus and I played offline, but the problem was still there.

I will deactivate the firewall and play offline - I will report back.



Playing offline should not matter. But antivirus and firewall could, if for no other reason, then hogging your system down.

User avatar
Seven
Corporal
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 9:54 pm

Tue Nov 11, 2008 12:46 pm

Ok, played without Firewall and Antivirus - GC 1914, no crash but AI still hangs indefinately.

There are times it seems the AI has stopped 'thinking' then it randomly starts thinking again.

The AI was still playing its military phase on turn 1 for 1 hour, and then I shut it down.

Below is an animated screen of what happens:


Image

User avatar
PhilThib
Posts: 13704
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Meylan (France)

Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:25 pm

Just a question: have you removed the option "give AI full time"... from the Option menu. If not, do so and see if it improves things... :confused:
Image

Return to “WW1 Technical support / Aide technique”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests