One thing i don´t fully understand at the moment is how a breakthrough work. Especially which unit can participate? Only units in reserve or units of the actual army too. I ask this question because i notice both. Let me give you an example. During the Early August turn as CP (Schlieffen plan) i move the first Army to Louvain (north of Bruxelles). The third Army to Namur. After i hit the "Enact all Movement" button i got a battle in Namur in which i plan a Breakthrough against Dinant in the South. The battle was victorious for me and then the Breakthrough battle start where i could only use the one corp which was in reserve at the third army. Certainly i lost the battle. After this battle i had the Breakthrough sub-phase where i can move my First Army from Louvain to Bruxelles. But in this battle i could use all the units of the First Army not only the reserve units. I won the battle but the First Army don´t move to Bruxelles after the fight. So is there a difference between fight a battle and then make a breakthrough and move and breakthrough?
Btw the boardgame rules have this paraghraph:
32-B. Breakthrough Starting from an Empty Hex
• A stack with infantry that moved but did not engage in combat may carry out
a “breakthrough” from its hex (after the resolution of all battles), with the units
in its HQ Reserve.
This is missing in the pc manual.
Thanks
Frank