soloswolf
General of the Army

Regulars Mod

Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:01 pm

Hi all,

I haven't played WiA in some time, but I am back to give it some more time in the sun.

I had a question about modding the Colonial Regulars so that they do not leave after a few turns. (As I said, I haven't played in a while and I don't remember how long they stick around) Any ideas on how to make it so they will just stay forever without disbanding?

I have played with modding AACW a bit, so I am not entirely unfamiliar with the guts of these games, but I am not an expert by any means, so any details will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
My name is Aaron.

Knight of New Hampshire

lodilefty

Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:28 pm

1. Figure out what Unit designations you wish to change:
[INDENT]easiest is to look in the Units DB spreadsheet.... you won't have to change any models or units, but you need to know the correct aliases[/INDENT]
2. You'll need to change the AutoRaise parameters for the units you wish to change.
easiest is to write an event similar to this:

SelectFaction = $GBR
StartEvent = evt_nam_GBR_Autoraise_Ramx|999|0|NULL|NULL|NULL|NULL

Conditions

Actions

SelectFaction = $GBR
SetAutoRaise = $uni_GBR_Ram1;[color="Red"]2;0[/color]
SetAutoRaise = $uni_GBR_Ram2;[color="red"]2;0[/color]
SetAutoRaise = $uni_GBR_Ram3;[color="red"]1;0[/color]

EndEvent

This event fires every turn, to protect against any other events changing the param....

This event should be added at the end of the "master" event file for the scenario you wish to change...

ex: 1755 Campaign.sct or 1775 Campaign.sct

Be aware that the COL variants use different Units/Models for the types you are looking at (which is actually the essence of he COL variant:blink :)

There are a lot of other ways to do this, involving editing/compiling the scenario etc, but this is a quick and dirty way to do your mod... :w00t:

Good hunting! Let us know if this acts wierd or doesn't work..... :wacko: