Bullman
Lieutenant
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 3:35 am

Game wont even run

Fri Apr 17, 2015 10:57 pm

Hello

I first bought BoA2:WiA back in Oct 2013 and never really got around to playing it. I can't remember if way back then I even had troubles running the game (maybe it was why I don't even have memory of playing the game), but as of now, I found the game was still installed on my PC but it fails to run.

I decided to just uninstall the game and re-install it. I then ran the BirthofAmerica2-SetupRelease-V101bDR.exe install file but when I tried to run the game it loads to about 25% then hangs and I get this message:

[ATTACH]33283[/ATTACH]

Followed by this:

[ATTACH]33284[/ATTACH]

Why is this even in French?

I then realised maybe I need to patch the game. Install Patch_WIA_v1.10e.exe.

Now when I try to run the game I get this popping up twice instead immediately.

[ATTACH]33285[/ATTACH]

I install Patch_WIA_1.10e_QF2.exe and the same thing happens.

Something really not right here. Oddly enough, I have also installed and tried to run the AACW demo (Demo105b_AACW.exe) and it too doesn't run at all, though I see a copy of the AACW.exe process is created in Task Manager each time I try.

Any help here?

Thanks

Bull
Attachments
cap2.JPG
2015-04-18_0-50-16.png
Capture.JPG

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Fri Apr 17, 2015 11:42 pm

When you are installing are you running as an administrator?

Bullman
Lieutenant
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 3:35 am

Sat Apr 18, 2015 3:08 am

Just tried. Problem remains for both.

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Sat Apr 18, 2015 4:00 am

A bit more information would be helpful.
What system are you running -ie Windows 7, etc.
What is the operating memory of your computer.

Bullman
Lieutenant
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 3:35 am

Sat Apr 18, 2015 7:43 am

I have AJE and CW2 running on it OK.

Win7 Home 64bit, 8GB RAM, GTX 660Ti, i5 Intel

Hardware limitations don't seem to be the issue.

DXDiag FWIW.[ATTACH]33288[/ATTACH]
Attachments

[The extension txt has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]


Bullman
Lieutenant
Posts: 123
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 3:35 am

Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:50 am

OK. Seems I may have resolved why BiA2 was not starting.

For some reason, I was clicking on the WIA.exe file directly trying to start the game, when in fact I should have instead been clicking on the autorun.exe file, then select Play from the menu.

All seems good now. However I still cant get the AACW demo to run :/
Attachments
black.jpg

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Mon Apr 20, 2015 12:40 am

Glad BiA2 is working.
You probably want to look at CW2 not AACW if you are looking at a new purchase of an American Civil War game.

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 24759
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:02 am

You can also try getting help from the technical help desk, they have an extensive knowledge base about these technicalities: support@slitherine.co.uk
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

Return to “WIA Technical support / Aide technique”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest