von Sachsen
Captain
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:52 pm

Sun Sep 19, 2010 8:54 pm

I got a critical error on Colonial 1755, in October of '57. Here is the log.

EDIT: Ok, here you go.
Attachments
current turn.rar
(119.95 KiB) Downloaded 122 times
Backup1.rar
(234.71 KiB) Downloaded 152 times

[The extension txt has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]


User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7578
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:43 pm

von Sachsen wrote:I got a critical error on Colonial 1755, in October of '57. Here is the log.


We'll need the saved game.

Current turn files and sub-folder \Backup1
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]
[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]
[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7578
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Mon Sep 20, 2010 1:06 pm

von Sachsen wrote:I got a critical error on Colonial 1755, in October of '57. Here is the log.

EDIT: Ok, here you go.


These are not correct game files: they are from 1756.... :confused:

Worse: the current folder is November 1756, the backup is from July 1756... :blink:

Please try again. :)

NOTE: adding the data to your post via "edit" is not good: I don't recieve any notice of an update, and so it was simply serendepity that I even found your files..... please reply, not edit, when adding data... :)
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25432
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Wed Sep 29, 2010 9:06 am

Beta patch 6

http://ageoddl.telechargement.fr/temp/patch_WIA_v1.08rc6.zip

baring a major bug, this will be the official patch (a new link will be provided).

Some events tweaked, some bugs fixed in the code.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Ebbingford
Posts: 6124
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: England

Sun Oct 03, 2010 1:47 pm

This looks like a wrong message or wrong unit name being used.

Image

My force under Contrecoeur has arrived in Shananda and then I'm told they have been defeated.
But what has actually happened is I have won whatever battle occurred and the fort that was there has been destroyed.
Save and backup attached if needed.
Attachments
1.jpg
message.rar
(563.6 KiB) Downloaded 137 times

User avatar
Gray_Lensman
Posts: 497
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 4:04 am
Location: Who is John Galt?

Sun Oct 03, 2010 2:22 pm

Ebbingford wrote:This looks like a wrong message or wrong unit name being used.

My force under Contrecoeur has arrived in Shananda and then I'm told they have been defeated.
But what has actually happened is I have won whatever battle occurred and the fort that was there has been destroyed.
Save and backup attached if needed.


Similar issues exist in the AACW beta update patch. It must be an AGE engine issue.

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7578
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:11 pm

Ebbingford wrote:This looks like a wrong message or wrong unit name being used.

Image

My force under Contrecoeur has arrived in Shananda and then I'm told they have been defeated.
But what has actually happened is I have won whatever battle occurred and the fort that was there has been destroyed.
Save and backup attached if needed.


hmmm, I'm guessing that since the saved game you attached is for AUS vs. PRU, that it is not what you intended to send :wacko: :D

:)
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

User avatar
Ebbingford
Posts: 6124
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 5:22 pm
Location: England

Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:59 pm

Whoops, must have had a senior moment. :blink:

Try this one instead, backup1 is the turn in question. :D
Attachments
ThisOneInstead.rar
(494.88 KiB) Downloaded 143 times

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7578
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Sun Oct 03, 2010 10:57 pm

This was [color="Red"]NOT a code issue[/color], but rather a minor rewording of a text string "override" that got reversed. :bonk:

Unzip the attached into \WIA\Settings to correct the message.

Thank you! :thumbsup: :coeurs:
Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

Baris
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1914
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:50 pm

Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:13 pm

in 1775 -83 campaign, light warship in Halifax can not enter ocean square as there is 2 elements of ships that has shallow water movement. 1 element missing in the unit. does it mean it can move after replenishing one more element? similar one is in Louisiana in Dartmouth harbour. I wasn't sure if it is a bug or wad?


[ATTACH]12704[/ATTACH]


EDIT: Thanks Anazagar ! :) It also happens in Jamaica unfortunately.
Attachments
light warship.jpg

Anazagar
Lieutenant
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:59 pm

Tue Oct 12, 2010 2:38 pm

Baris wrote:in 1775 -83 campaign, light warship in Halifax can not enter ocean square as there is 2 elements of ships that has shallow water movement. 1 element missing in the unit. does it mean it can move after replenishing one more element? similar one is in Louisiana in Dartmouth harbour. I wasn't sure if it is a bug or wad?


It's wad - West Florida tends to get schooner elements which mean it can't enter ocean. A bit unnerving when it happens in a place it can't get out of because of that (like Halifax or Jamaica)

User avatar
Hohenlohe
Posts: 588
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:24 pm
Location: Munich

Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:51 am

I think that it will be possible to prevent that some ships will get bateaux or schooner elements by giving the unit in an extra stack an attack posture.
Just one thought of mine. I always try to give certain units the upcoming replacements especially the grenadiers or Highlanders. It happens not everytime but in most cases you set these units in passive mode they will get a replacement if some is available in their area as I have understand.

heartly greetings

Hohenlohe
R.I.P. Henry D.

In Remembrance of my Granduncle Hans Weber, a Hungaro-German Soldier,served in Austro-Hungarian Forces during WWI,war prisoner, missed in Sibiria 1918...

Baris
AGEod Guard of Honor
Posts: 1914
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:50 pm

lobbying in Europe

Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:32 pm

Yes, this can be pretty bad when you need transport capacity especially for British. Purchased supplies can not be transported when there is schooner elements replaced. Suitable harbours are usually in Halifax.

After I select as GB Lobbying in Europe(-1 foreign entry) USA gained 4 foreign entry points in that turn. in the next turn and the other turns they got 3 FE. is it WAD? And is that option usefull in the long run? (needs 20 EP)

User avatar
lodilefty
Posts: 7578
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:27 pm
Location: Finger Lakes, NY GMT -5 US Eastern

Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:40 pm

Always ask yourself: "Am I part of the Solution?" If you aren't, then you are part of the Problem!
[CENTER][/CENTER]

[CENTER]Visit AGEWiki - your increasingly comprehensive source for information about AGE games[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Rules for new members[/CENTER]

[CENTER]Forum Rules[/CENTER]



[CENTER]Help desk: support@slitherine.co.uk[/CENTER]

Return to “Help to improve WIA”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest