AndrewKurtz
Posts: 1165
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:49 am
Location: Greenville, SC

ARES with NCP

Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:34 am

It seems that the ARES - Server.EXE and ARES.exe file installed with NCP are the same.

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25168
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:08 am

The 2 files are identical, but the name allow them to know if they have to function as a server or a client.

We will open an ARES forum for everything related to ARES, including questions and bug. The forum moderation will be handled by Celtic, the developer in charge of ARES.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

AndrewKurtz
Posts: 1165
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:49 am
Location: Greenville, SC

Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:48 pm

Pocus wrote:The 2 files are identical, but the name allow them to know if they have to function as a server or a client.

We will open an ARES forum for everything related to ARES, including questions and bug. The forum moderation will be handled by Celtic, the developer in charge of ARES.


OK. Curious to figure it out. For me, regardless of which I click on, they load the client (according to the title bar and the fact that the screen isn't the server screen).

AndrewKurtz
Posts: 1165
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:49 am
Location: Greenville, SC

Sun Nov 18, 2007 4:08 pm

AndrewKurtz wrote:OK. Curious to figure it out. For me, regardless of which I click on, they load the client (according to the title bar and the fact that the screen isn't the server screen).


Anyone else have this issue or is it just me?

swang
Corporal
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:35 pm

Sun Nov 18, 2007 11:02 pm

I just tried it, the shortcut on the installed menu for the "server" gives the client.

User avatar
Celtic
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 11:57 am
Location: Saint Pierre d'Allevard (38) France

Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:34 pm

you are right, Pocus have already confirmed your bug.
So, it will be corrected in the next patch.
Image

freeboy
Lieutenant
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:51 pm

Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:40 am

is there arees forum?
interestedin this

User avatar
Durk
Posts: 2495
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:36 am
Location: Wyoming

Sat Nov 12, 2011 5:28 am

Arees is no longer used. Look at the Frederic PBEM for current method of play.

Return to “ARES”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests