User avatar
Chamberlain
Captain
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: New York

Jump Map

Sat Apr 28, 2007 2:14 pm

Hey guys,

Quick question, not sure if this one came up yet.

Can the jump map also show the positions of the opposing army (non FOG units). Maybe have Blue dots for union & Gray, or Red for Confederates.
The issue is when I want to move a unit(s) closer to the battles or to meet an opposing force head-on, I need to scroll down, up, sideways to see where the oposition is before moving them. If the jump map showed the location where the opposing forces are, it would allow for better placement of your troops, and quicker. It doesn't help if you are moving your units away from the opposing forces.

Thanks

Chamberlain

User avatar
caranorn
Posts: 1332
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Sat Apr 28, 2007 11:00 pm

I believe it already does. White squares for the Confederates and blue squares for the Union.

Marc aka Caran...

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25418
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Sun Apr 29, 2007 7:19 am

this is what the minimap does, blue for Union, Grey for CSA. You don't see any grey spots?
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Chamberlain
Captain
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: New York

Sun Apr 29, 2007 12:43 pm

caranorn,

I am not sure.

I always see the blue ones.

I will have to check to see if I see white squares.

If so, maybe they can be changed to gray or white to be more visable.

Chamberlain

User avatar
Chamberlain
Captain
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: New York

Sun Apr 29, 2007 12:56 pm

Pocus,

So what it sounds like is if you are playing the Union, you will be able to see your bluue units on the map & you will also see your opponents, the grey CSA units on the map.

I will re-check the jump map, but if the grey units are there, maybe they blend in or I just have not noticed them.


***** Update - Pocus, I loaded up my saved game and I do see the white units on the map. I guess I was looking to see grey or red for the CSA. Is there a way to make the white units brighter or to actually change them to grey or red ? *****

Thanks,

Chamberlain

tc237
Colonel
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Allegheny Arsenal

Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:53 pm

Chamberlain,
They are there, they are a light gray, so it can be difficult to see sometimes.

tc237
Colonel
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Allegheny Arsenal

Sun Apr 29, 2007 3:29 pm

What is the file for the Mini-Map dots?

I'm trying to make the dots darker myself but can not find the correct file.
If I manage to change it, I can send you a copy Chamberlain.

User avatar
Chamberlain
Captain
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: New York

Sun Apr 29, 2007 4:01 pm

TC237 & caranorn, I stand corrected.

I loaded up my saved campaign & yes :bonk:

they are there....

Thanks guys,

Chamberlain

User avatar
Chamberlain
Captain
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: New York

Sun Apr 29, 2007 4:07 pm

TC237,

okay, that sounds like a plan.

Good Luck

Thanks,

Chamberlain

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25418
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Sun Apr 29, 2007 5:09 pm

if you want to mod for yourself the color, it is possible, open the file

\ACW\GameData\Factions\XXX.fac

here you find an entry:

MinimapColor = $colUSAMain

change the color to something else, as defined here:

\ACW\Aliases\ColorAlias.ini

you can add colors to ColorAlias if you want too.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

tc237
Colonel
Posts: 316
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Allegheny Arsenal

Sun Apr 29, 2007 7:19 pm

Thanks Pocus, it works great.

Chamberlain,
I followed Pocus' instructions and was able to change the color.
If you are able to this yourself go ahead. If you need help just ask (PM me with your prefered color and e-mail).

I have a few examples:
MinimapColor = $colGray64_____MinimapColor = $colGray75
Image_____Image

MinimapColor = $colGray128____MinimapColor = $colGray192
Image_____Image

MinimapColor = $colGray75 is a custom color,
You have to make a small change to the ColorsAlias.ini file to create it.

User avatar
Chamberlain
Captain
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: New York

Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:15 am

Pocus,

Thanks for the tidbit....
PS... What do the numbers after the color in the ColorsAlias.ini represent? If I add a color, what numbers do I have to add after it.
ex. $colRed xxx |xxx|xxx|

TC237,

Thanks for the map examples. I also tried White, DarkBrown & Black.

I settled for Black, and they show up well against the blue union.

I changed the MinimapColor = $colBlack in the 1confederate.fac

Thanks for your help,

Chamberlain

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25418
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:00 am

red, green, blue, alpha intensities.
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Pocus
Posts: 25418
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:37 am
Location: Lyon (France)

Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:15 am

note though that every patch will overwrite these data
Image


Hofstadter's Law: "It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's law."

User avatar
Chamberlain
Captain
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 7:46 pm
Location: New York

Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:10 pm

Pocus wrote:note though that every patch will overwrite these data


Pocus,

Will a patch even overwrite any color I select that is currently defined in the ColorsAlias.ini file ?

I am using the standard Black entry defined in the file.

Thanks

Chamberlain

Return to “Modding AGE engine games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests