xamevou
Conscript

Some advice on long campaigns, please

Fri Oct 16, 2009 9:42 pm

Dear all. I'm new to AGEOD games. In the last weeks I discovered their games and, after playing some demos, I bought BoA and ACW (yes, the cheapest ones). I realized that BoA is probably the easier AGEOD game for learning the ropes, as the other games seem to be built on the BoA architecture and features. I plan to buy Napoleon, BoA2, etc, in the future.

In any case, I've been able to win a lot of scenarios in BoA, playing with the brits or with the american-french. However, the big campaigns are impossible for me. Around turn 45 or so, I've lost so much terrain that I stop playing because my defeat is absolutely clear...

If I play the brits, I advance very very slowly and finally the americans are able to defeat even my greatest armies. If I play the americans, it is even worse. My "George Washington army" is destroyed even before turn 30, and the british armies overpower me in the north and in the south.

I don't know what I am doing bad. Maybe I should spend more turns "resting", specially in the winter, instead of rushing to defeat my enemies. Is that right?

arsan

Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:07 pm

Hi!
Welcome to the forums :)
Its hard to me to give any detailed advice on BoA as i have not played it for years. I can't help but think on BoA2 terms, as its what i play lately :bonk:
Have you checked the BoA AAR forum??
http://www.ageod-forum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12
They should give you some good ideas.
As well, using the forum search function can be very helpful for finding concrete info.
Oh, and don't forget this threads :thumbsup:
http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?t=348
http://www.ageod-forum.com/showthread.php?t=1024

As very general advice...
- Beware of winter, is a killer if you are on a region without a friendly structure. While there is snow around you should be better stay at winter quarters refitting for the spring.